Incredible Edible Herb

Just outside the kitchen door, I have a herb/vegetable garden in containers. No problem with flooding rains for the pots are well drained. On the other hand, the challenge is to keep them watered when it is hot. I do have a water hose right at the deck edge.  It is so easy to step outside for a few chive leaves to put in the sour cream or a tomato for a salad.

I can visualize a stacked tomato, basil, mazzarella salad drizzled with balsamic vinegar. Can’t you?

For something a little spicy, we have cayenne pepper that can jazz up some quacamole.


Flat Italian parsley will decorate and season many dishes and freshen breath as well.

Have you ever had bread with rosemary and garlic?

I trellised the Husky Cherry Red tomato.

For something different and color contrast, I chose yellow tomatoes which I understand are less acidic. The vines will be allowed to cascade from the banister container. If the fruits become too heavy, they can be attached to the lattice.

Sometimes I like to present food with flowers but I want edible flowers. A large container of chives (I use a lot) and wild violets can also be used for edible flowers. Do not use the yellow violets. Since the violets and chives are out of season for flowers, I planted red nastursium which have a peppery flavor.

I would not have only food growing on the deck. I must have flowers

like astilbe with its fluffy plumes.

and a fountain,


or, at least an interesting form like this twelve inch diameter Echeveria that will be blooming any minute.

New for me this year is Campanula punctata f. rubiflora ‘Cherry Bells’ having two inch flowers on a two foot plant.

I like Calibrachoa ‘MiniFamous Double Orange.’

Photo by FlashBlack

Overhead, the bluebirds go about their daily tasks.

When it is hot in the deck garden, Christmas searches for a place to remain a cool cat.

Whoops! He lost his cool. Looks like he’s been rolling in the catnip again.

Snoring! Yep, he’s really cool.

About mothernaturesgarden

Gardening in Tennessee Zone 6 at an average of 744.65' above sea level.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Incredible Edible Herb

  1. Pretty photos! You have some pretty containers and a wide variety of herbs. That salad sounds delish! I love all the wonderful smells of herbs, too. I am growing tomatoes for the first time and we are enjoying them! I enjoyed looking at your blog. 🙂

  2. CurtissAnn says:

    You inspire me with the tomatoes. I have kept wanting to raise just one in a pot. Maybe I still will. 🙂

Leave a Reply

