Early in the Morning

It is time to let the cat out. He greets me by rubbing against my legs and purring while I pour a cup of coffee. After our good morning exchange, he saunters over and waits by the door for me to get whatever paraphernalia I’m bringing. I don’t know about Christmas, the cat; but early morning is my favorite time of day. We ease out the door into the morning.

It is one of the best times to see wildlife. Some are going to sleep and some are waking.  Yesterday, in the stillness, I caught a glimpse of a coyote passing by not to mention the doe lifting her head, ever on the alert, ready to sprint off into the woods at any moment. Mug of coffee in hand, I first check the plants in containers on the deck to see which must be watered, fed, protected, etc.  As the light changes, so do the photo opts. Sooner or later, hubby joins me and we chat about wishes and dreams for the garden. Since his cochlear implant and not having to struggle to communicate, this has become most pleasant as well. Priceless, actually! We have a lot of catching up to do.

The niger seed feeder beneath my bedroom window keeps goldfinches in view most any time.

As you can see, this goldfinch is more completely molted into breeding plumage.

The bluebirds usually frequent the west side of the house where there is more sun, but this year one has made a tree at the back corner of the house his favorite spot and we get to see him more often.

A pair of Eastern Phoebes made the screech owl box that hubby made to attract owls their nesting site. Well, at least something is using it.

The Rose-breasted Grosbeak is migrating through the area. I’ll have to check to see if he remains for a while or moves on.

If recent rains in Middle Tennessee didn’t wipe your garden out by flooding, it has contributed to lush foliage. I noticed the hosta is looking particularly handsome and  in its prime.

How I could live this long and never have had a penstemon is inconceivable but true.  I  bought Penstemon ‘Dark Towers’ and the little tubular flowers look perfect for attracting hummingbirds.

After perusing the garden, observing bird and bloom, taking photo opts, and performing a few chores in Mother Nature’s Garden, I’m ready to celebrate another day. Life is good.

Photos are courtesy of FlashBlack and edited by Mother Nature.


Bookmark and Share

About mothernaturesgarden

Gardening in Tennessee Zone 6 at an average of 744.65' above sea level.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Early in the Morning

  1. Early morning in the garden is the best time to be in the garden. Or in the evening to look over the results of the day’s work in the garden.
    Suzanne

  2. MNGarden says:

    I cherish your comment for writing is not my long suit.

  3. linda says:

    Sounds like a beautiful, and familiar way to spend early mornings – beautifully, evocatively written, Donna.

    Oooh, I love that penstemon. I’ve had Husker’s Red in the gardens at my three last homes including here, but Dark Towers looks like a must-have with foliage that keeps its burgundy color.

  4. Racquel says:

    Ooh I love that Penstemon, got to add that to my wishlist! I have a tiny collection and I’m so addicted now. 🙂 My cat does the same thing every morning and then I can’t get back to bed so it’s off to see the garden.

  5. nancybond says:

    Donna, your photos are lovely — I so love the bluebirds and have never seen one in our area. We do have lots of goldfinches, however, and they’ve certainly been busy. 🙂

  6. So nice to see the goldfinches outside the window. We’ve had no luck with them in this garden – think the cats are keeping them away.

  7. Most of the birds are dealing with nestlings or fledglings at this time giving additional opportunities for photos.

  8. The hostas are especially large this year because of all the rainfall. Most of mine are in protected spots so they are not beat up by the rain.

  9. tina says:

    You got some really pretty shots of the beautiful birds. Those hostas are sure happy!

  10. Nice photos! Especially the bluebird one. I think I need to add more seed to the feeders. It’s been a while since I’ve seen the grosbeaks and wouldn’t mind a flyover here!

Leave a Reply

