Tennessee April


The woods blush with redbuds and are soon followed by my favorite dogwoods. I live on a hill in a grove of dogwoods. I can hardly close my eyes when they bloom. I want to absorb every second of beauty.

Dogwood Close-up

Ornamental Peach


The Japanese maple is in front of the dining room window. When it flushes with new growth, the dining room has a warm rosy glow.

Hosta foliage looks so lush you could eat it. Guess what?  You can.  Keep in mind the kind of slug bait you have used around them, however. Personally, in my garden, I try to keep everything from eating them.

I think this columbine is a volunteer. I don’t remember planting it. It is floriferous. I can say that for it.

Snowball Bush

Christmas is as happy and content to be outside as we are. Whatever moves, he is ever on the alert for an impromptu hunt. His bell, however, keeps his would be victims aware of his presence.

April is wildflower time in Tennessee. I love these ephemeral beauties like Twisted Trillium/ Trillium stamineum and perennial Fire Pinks/Silene virginica.

The ephemerals are growing under and between trees where they are undisturbed  and safe after they die back. This one little Shooting Star/Dodecatheon meadia returns each year while Iris cristata is making a nice little patch.

If you are busy with garden chores and a tiger swallowtail should flutter by, you must sprint for the camera.  It’s required and that is what hubby did to get this lovely shot.  The mountains are green now with fresh new foliage and all the birds are singing and nesting. Everything is alive with the sounds of nature renewing itself once again. Ah! Life is good.

About mothernaturesgarden

Gardening in Tennessee Zone 6 at an average of 744.65' above sea level.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Tennessee April

  1. The flowers and blue skies definitely improve my disposition. I seem to have a smile on my face most of the time with a new grandbaby and my husband can hear now because of a cochlear implant. Life is good.

  2. bangchik says:

    I like the blushing woods alongside the road. Everyone should smile driving on such road and no hurry!. ~bangchik

  3. skeeter says:

    YOu have once again reminded me why Spring is my favorite time of year! Love it 🙂

  4. Hi Donna, as I write this, I’m listening to the lovely music on your poetry blog (have 2 windows open!). It was good your hubby was there to get the camera! I like to have mine with me all the time but usually don’t take it with me when I’m doing garden chores either! I have seen several tiger swallowtails already and haven’t gotten a shot yet! You have gorgeous blooms and it looks enchanted where you live. The red buds and dogwood are stunning. I have been learning about more and more plants that can be eaten, but I had no idea hostas are actually edible by us humans…wow. A hosta salad?! I, too, try to keep them from being eaten by all those critters who like to munch holes in them. Happy spring to you!

  5. Racquel says:

    I’m jealous of your butterfly shot, no signs of these flying flowers here yet. Soon…hopefully. 🙂

  6. What could be better than plants that self sow?

  7. They are one of my favorites.

  8. The Trillium is really cool looking!

  9. Gail says:

    I am so glad he ran for the camera~~it’s a beautiful flutterby! I am going to miss the emphemerals when they disappear~They are the best ever wildflowers~gail

  10. Lona says:

    Donna your gardens are so beautiful now with the spring blooms. The redbud trees are so pretty. Volunteer Columbines are always welcome LOL!

  11. The dogwoods are one of the reasons we chose to live here.

  12. We had to wait so long for spring to arrive making it extra special.

  13. Meredith says:

    How beautiful, Donna! I especially envy you your hill of dogwoods. I saw a tiger swallowtail the other day, flitting around the understory of an enormous cherry tree, but by the time I’d got my lens open and approached the area, he’d gone fluttering far up into the blue sky. So glad you captured this one on film. 🙂

  14. tina says:

    Your hubby got a great shot of the swallowtail. It looks so good with the red of the azaleas in the background. Spring is sure something else this year. Christmas is so pretty! I’ve never seen the twisted trillium. It is very unique-like a pinwheel. You have a great day!

  15. I have been enjoying your blog as well.

  16. June says:

    Every year I’m sad that I’ve moved a zone too far for the dogwoods. Once I was so homesick that my father took a three-frame panorama of dogwoods blooming in the Ozarks. I hung it over my desk in the city. It got me through that year, but I always feel a pinch of regret when I hear the dogwoods are in bloom back home. What a treat to see yours. I am with you: Don’t sleep. Enjoy!

    And who knew you could eat hostas? I mean who knew besides the deer and the slugs. Wonder how they taste.

    It’s wonderful to see spring springing there. Your blog is divine.

  17. elizabethm says:

    What utterly stunning photos and I do envy you your trilliums. Sadly they won’t grow for me up here. Thanks for visiting my blog too!

  18. I know what you mean. I had moved some large plants out and had to bring the very tender ones back in overnight.

  19. When I have a question of plant suitability, I go here (Canada included):
    http://plants.usda.gov/java/factSheet

  20. nancybond says:

    Donna, those dogwoods must be a sight to behold, and imagine living near a grove of them. Sigh. Everything in your beautiful garden looks lush and thriving! It has turned cold and rainy here in Nova Scotia after two weeks of summer like weather — can’t wait until it warms up again. All the plants around here are confused! 🙂

  21. Hi Donna – The dogwood is absolutely beautiful – lucky you. Our provincial flower is the trillium – it’s blooming here in Ontario right now. And the ephemerals are stunning. Wonder if I can grow them here in zone 5B.

  22. keewee says:

    I have seen photos of trilliums on many blogs, and I think it is time I did some research, to see which ones I can grow in my garden.
    Your photos are lovely, showing all the spring blooms.

  23. Thanks, Pat. It is always fun to see what is going on in other gardens.

  24. Pat Bennett says:

    Donna, I enjoy your blog & your magnificent photos so much. Thank you for sharing them.

Leave a Reply

