Bits of Green

At this time of year in a world of gray woods, I crave the color green.

I even put it on the table.

It was a day on the deck for my tiny crocus garden because we got a break in the weather and it was mild. Sunny blue skies for us! What a treat after the snow and freezing temps! I can see all around outside the daffodil foliage has broken ground…little tufts of green here and there in the garden.

Although the hellebores have looked tattered this winter, I found a few buds clasped together in the cold worth capture a few days ago. I am just now getting the photo up. A few more days like today and there will be action in the garden. I am more than ready.


Back inside, lily seedlings elongated looking for the light have been in limbo. Maybe they will form new leaves for I filled in around them with more soil mixed with blood meal. It is the first time I have tried this but something needed to be done. It is an experiment really. We will see what happens. I am eager to see the results.

I am pleased to report the little orchid purchased last year did a reprise. I find it easy to neglect them when not in bloom, therefore their smiling faces spell success in my book.

A huge sanservieria winters in the corner of the dining room waiting to return to the deck when freezing temperatures are no longer a threat.  They are supposed to be good oxygenators for the home in winter.

What’s that?  Oh, it’s the garden fairy on duty and ever watchful working her magic with the watering can.

About mothernaturesgarden

Gardening in Tennessee Zone 6 at an average of 744.65' above sea level.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Bits of Green

  1. Ilona says:

    Green is the color we hunger for at this time of year! Good selection of subjects- like the table setting especially.

  2. The garden fairy with sprinkling can is really neat. I like your hope illustrated with flowers and growing things. Nice post. Thanks for your visit to my blog.

  3. I must get in the Longing for Green Line. I found myself searching stores yesterday for green tablecloths and bought green candles. Life’s longing for itself. Your life is full of life. Bravo!

  4. Father Time says:

    Gal, do you ever collect plates. Love ya just the same though.

  5. mothernaturesgarden says:

    Glad you dropped by, Diana

  6. mothernaturesgarden says:

    😉

  7. mothernaturesgarden says:

    I collect plates as well as plants. 🙂

  8. skeeter says:

    I like the way you sneak in that Orchid with this green post. hee hee… What a cute baby face indeed! So precious…

  9. Diana says:

    Donna – I adore that little garden fairy – I’m sure she keeps close watch over your little green babies. Those Hellebores are so precious. I have one little bloom and I treasure it. Your orchid is stunning, too — I’m always in awe of gardeners like you who can nurture them.

  10. mothernaturesgarden says:

    I have to be vigilant or the squirrels or the cat will have crocus salad.

  11. tina says:

    Those crocuses are so sweet! I love the pot. The snake plant is a favorite here too. I used to have one but for some reason I’ve lost it along the way. I don’t even know where. Your babyface is sweet. What a cutie!

  12. mothernaturesgarden says:

    I am eager to get the lilies in the ground as soon as frost free date is reached. They can fend for themselves better than I can remember to water, etc.

  13. mothernaturesgarden says:

    When I was young we were surrounded by dark green pines and when the new spring green diciduous foliage appeared, its was magical.

  14. Hi Donna, wonderful post…lots to take in! Love your fairy, she’s adorable watching over things with her watering can. Your crocus garden is sweet! What a nice idea…and I’m sure they appreciated a breath of fresh air today. How exciting to find the first hellebore buds and see the first green…it’s such an encouraging sign. It will be interesting to find out how your lilies do with added bloodmeal. Hope they like it. I’m looking forward to having your Hibiscus seeds (Blue River II) grow this year…I’ll post photos if they do. How nice to have your orchid rebloom…she’s obviously a keeper:-)

  15. Pamela says:

    I start to crave green this time of the year also. Especially that sweet, bright new green when the bulbs just start to show themselves in the garden. The best!

Leave a Reply

