Feeding Feathered Friends

Well, it is snowing again.

We must feed our feathered friends.

Even the birdies find Father Time a good friend.


Thanks, Father Time.

At present the temperature is around freezing, but the birdies will be well fed to endure tonight’s lower temps.

About mothernaturesgarden

Gardening in Tennessee Zone 6 at an average of 744.65' above sea level.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Feeding Feathered Friends

  1. mothernaturesgarden says:

    Fungi are fascinating. I’ll be right over, Sharon.

  2. Thanks for the visit. Now you must drop in again for my mushroom walk on Sunday. Honestly, I’ve been teaching about nature for decades, but this mushroom walk with an old friend and mycologist was an eye opener. EARTHSTAR? King Alfred’s biscuit, Elve’s saddles, what a day and what photos I was able to capture.

    Hope you’re trending toward spring there.

    Sharon Lovejoy Writes from Sunflower House and a Little Green Island

  3. Hi Donna,
    It’s so nice the birdies have Mother Nature and Father Time to look out for them! I think we are kindred spirits…my birdies are well-fed and cared for, too;-)

  4. mothernaturesgarden says:

    Jackson Pollocked! That’s funny.
    Donna

  5. Thanks for the words about my old books Sunflower Houses and Hollyhock Days. You sound like the kind of person who lives the life and would enjoy A Blessing of Toads, a gardener’s guide to living with nature. The book is about all the wonderful critters who share life with us. They should have it in your local library.

    I love your photos and words and reading the comments of others.

    Let’s keep in touch! Oh, by the way, my nyjer seed bill is immense. I call it “my clothing allowance.” Yesterday an entire feeder full of seeds in less than 3 hours.

    Lots of cedar waxwings here eating pepper berries and cotoneaster, pyracantha, and toyon. They Jackson Pollocked my husbands car in hundreds of places yesterday.

    Happy days,

    Sharon Lovejoy Writes from Sunflower House and a Little Green Island

  6. mothernaturesgarden says:

    I have always wanted to come visit the many gardens of England.
    Snow seems to be a problem everywhere at the moment.

  7. Garden tips says:

    Great photos. It’s snowing here in Bristol England too.

  8. mothernaturesgarden says:

    You have a steady hand.

  9. Nice setpup you got there. I just never drag out my tripods or monopods but hand hold the cameras and lenses.

  10. mothernaturesgarden says:

    I always wonder where they spend the night. We have a bird house on the covered part of the deck where Carolina wrens have roosted in the past. I haven’t checked that lately. I must.

  11. corefoundations says:

    Our birds are refusing to come out. . .not that I blame them one bit, but I’d sure like to know they are alive.

  12. mothernaturesgarden says:

    Before you know it, you will recognize every one.

  13. mothernaturesgarden says:

    We will just cozy up to the fire till it is gone. 😀

  14. mothernaturesgarden says:

    We go berserk over a couple inches of snow.

  15. mothernaturesgarden says:

    Lucky is right. Those birdies are more interested in eating than posing.

  16. Patsi says:

    Just love it !!!
    Isn’t it fun trying to capture shots of the birds.
    Sure does take time but sometimes we get lucky.
    I just snap through the window ..no tripod,bet it would help.

  17. Awww, more snow? We too are having more, which is a bit tiresome, but thankfully there are blogs to read and birds to feed, so it’s okay. I love the photo of the cardinal, and what a good spouse you have for braving the elements to fill the feeders.

  18. Looks like you are all ready to get some great birdie pictures, Donna… Your Sweetie was good to refill the feeders for you. Keep those birdie pictures coming!!!!

    We got snow last night (very pretty)–but it is all gone today… Turned to RAIN….. Sigh!!!
    Hugs,
    Betsy

  19. mothernaturesgarden says:

    I like to think one more bird made it through the night because his crop was full.

  20. skeeter says:

    Burrr, I do feel sorry for the wildlife during such cold days and nights. They must have some awesome coats and feathers to protect them. Nature is so brutal at times but such is life I guess. We have not seen our coyote or fox in a long time. Too much construction has moved them out further into the county…

  21. CurtissAnn says:

    Oh, love your photos of the birds! And of your camera. You are so very clever to know how to work your camera to greatest advantage. I have begun watching the birds, much to my great surprise. Even got me an Audubon Society identification book. Amazing.

    CurtissAnn

Leave a Reply

