Winter Gardening

It is cold outside and there is a great yearning for spring and Cabin Fever is my constant companion.  I need to do some gardening.

This past year, I saved some naturally hybridized Oriental lily seeds.

from the pictured

parents

which form seed pods that ripen, turn brown, and split apart at the top dispersing seeds as they shake in the wind.

Use what you have. On Jan. 21st I started them on a damp paper towel in a baggie in front of a south facing window where the temperature is about 70°.

Here we are January 27, six days later, with sprouts.  They practically all sprouted.


Today, I pricked them out and put them in some growing medium, a deep plastic container covered and sealed with plastic wrap, to continue growing with plenty of head room. My paper towels were strong 2 ply and some of the sprouts were already going into the paper. It is a good thing I did it today or I would have lost more than a few trying to separate them. A single ply paper napkin may have been a better choice.

(Enlarge photo by clicking on it.)

Lilium orientalis Seedlings Cotyledon Stage

An egg crate is a good container for individuals.  I put holes in one crate, rested it in another, and covered in plastic wrap. This container was planted January 28. So far, so good. Go sprouts.

About mothernaturesgarden

Gardening in Tennessee Zone 6 at an average of 744.65' above sea level.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Winter Gardening

  1. gail says:

    Such an easy and simply way to get them sprouted! You know for sure they will have a chance, too. Can’t wait to se the babies blooming some day! gail

  2. Wow that’s neat, Donna… I can’t wait to see all of those lilies when they bloom. I love all of those colors. We have them too–but I’ve never tried to get them to grow from seed. Great Idea!!!!

    Wore my poncho recently… THANKS!!!
    Hugs,
    Betsy

  3. Darla says:

    I am so going to copy you with this !!

  4. mothernaturesgarden says:

    They will be planted out this spring. They will have a far better chance of surviving outside. With scales, you reproduce the exact same plant. It is a great way to increase your favorites. With seed, there will be something new.

  5. Anonymous says:

    Oh, fun! Not as quickly grown off as the Scales in Janie’s recent post, but rewarding for the patient gardener. It will be interesting to see what the offspring of the pictured lilies will be like.

    I haven’t tried lily seeds, but I’ve done Amaryllis, floating them in water to germinate instead of in damp paper. I’m still waiting for a blossom. Maybe one will bloom this spring in this their third year. They’re planted outside.

  6. mothernaturesgarden says:

    Wouldn’t it be great if they all made it to flowering stage. I’m ambitious.

  7. CurtissAnn says:

    Such a clever, skilled woman you are! I love Oriental lilies.

Leave a Reply

