New Year’s Day

Traditional New Year’s Day meal for us is black-eyed peas and cornbread. Turnip greens, celery stuffed with cheese, and red onion are a bonus. Pass the pepper sauce, please. In my book nothing could be better than buttermilk with that. Sweet tea or coffee is  for those not so inclined. When I can move again, we will have peach pie and fresh hot coffee. I’ll take mine black. Happy New Year.

About mothernaturesgarden

Gardening in Tennessee Zone 6 at an average of 744.65' above sea level.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to New Year’s Day

  1. MNGarden says:

    Oh yes, green onions.

  2. This looks like one wonderful, traditional feast. That tureen of turnip greens looks absolutely mouth-watering, and the mention of peach pie made me long to join you.

    May the black-eyed peas bring you and yours fortune in the coming year!

    By the way, my mom *loves* her cornbread dunked in a glass of buttermilk, and in the late spring and summer, a long, fresh and piquant green onion needs to be added to the mix 🙂

  3. mothernaturesgarden says:

    We have enjoyed using those dishes.

  4. mothernaturesgarden says:

    Right. You google black-eyed peas and come up with a band instead of something to eat.

  5. mothernaturesgarden says:

    It’s a southern thing. 🙂

  6. I had never heard of black eyed peas for New Years Day until I heard someone on TV mention it, then I saw a few bloggers talk about it. I hadn’t seen a photo, though. Yours is great, and the cornbread looks good, too.

    Happy New Year!

  7. MNGarden says:

    It’s good you’re in same area as your mom as well.

  8. MNGarden says:

    It has to be good.

  9. MNGarden says:

    Ham bone was in turnips and ham hock in peas. 🙂

  10. MNGarden says:

    Lona we had corned beef and cabbage yesterday.

  11. Lona says:

    I will take it all but the greens Donna, LOL. Peach pie sounds so yummy. My Dad would love you it was his favorite pie.
    We always do the sauerkraut and pork thing here.
    Looking so forward to gardening (and eating) with you in this new year.

  12. Autumn Belle says:

    This looks good to me. Yummy. I can’t help smiling at your mention of black-eyed peas. It is my son’s fave group band but I think they are too noisy for my taste! Haha!.

  13. fairegarden says:

    Yummy! We had our black eyed peas already, with ham. So now we’re good for another year. 🙂
    Frances

  14. Titania says:

    This is a fine New Years feast. It looks delicious and I also like your pretty Portmeirion plates. Happy New Year.

  15. Sounds delicious.. What time should I be there?????

    I make Hoppin’ John (black-eyed peas, ham, smoked sausage, and rice)…It’s delcious also and makes a huge casserole…

    Hugs,
    Betsy

  16. tina says:

    You too Donna.

  17. CurtissAnn says:

    Yumm! You just reminded me–must bake the cornbread for Mother and I tonight, just us. She loves cornbread. Nap first! 🙂

Leave a Reply

