Now and Then

Remember when we all went to Grandmother’s house for Thanksgiving. I remember sitting in front of the fireplace to keep warm when it was cold. We might gather around the piano and sing for awhile. The adults would tell stories while we dreamily watched the fire dance and crackle. When it was time for bed we would slip into icy sheets and snuggle together till our bodies warmed the heavy quilts we were under for there was no heat in the bedrooms. Well those days are gone, our families are spread far and wide, grandparents go visit the children on holidays, and our fireplaces are backed up with central air. That’s what I will be doing this year. Although, I will be taking the pecan pie I only bake about twice a year.

Todays harvest is on gargantuan terms and may come to your table fresh from the southern hemisphere. I noticed asparagus from Peru the last time I was at the grocer.

Noah

We do have something extra special to be thankful for this time.

Isn’t life good when you can buy plants at the grocery store also. I had to give this little pot of parsley a home under a florescent light on my kitchen counter. 🙂

Hubby has already gotten the baking fever. I hope he doesn’t exhaust himself before the holiday begins. I surely am enjoying his apple pies now, however. I know I’m early but I hope your Thanksgiving is extra special this year.

Apple Pie Recipe

About mothernaturesgarden

Gardening in Tennessee Zone 6 at an average of 744.65' above sea level.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Now and Then

  1. mothernaturesgarden says:

    I’m always amazed hearing the past from different perspectives.

  2. corefoundations says:

    You know, Daddy never talks about past holidays! I never realized you went to your Grandmothers for Thanksgiving. . .

    Have a most blessed Thanksgiving!

  3. Oh Donna, I do miss the good-ole-days.. I never had grandparents unfortunately–but my mother would cook a huge dinner –and all of the family would come home for Thanksgiving. Now, people just don’t do that. None of my kids nor G’s kids are coming for Thanksgiving. AND since G’s parents will be with their daughter this year, G and I are heading to Kingsport to pick up a friend (who is alone) and taking her out to dinner. I wanted to do something for someone and she is just so happy. I feel sorry for people who are alone during the holidays.

    Noah is GORGEOUS. You do have something special to be thankful for this year.
    Hugs,
    Betsy

  4. fairegarden says:

    Oh Donna, a very special reason to be thankful!!! Those little ones add such joy to our lives, no matter if they live near or far. Thanksgiving is always at our house, our yearly family reunion. It doesn’t look like that first photo however. But I do wear a full body apron. 🙂
    Frances

  5. nancybond says:

    What a spectacular harvest photo! They all are, truth be told, especially the wee one. 🙂 I’m drooling over your apple pie!

Leave a Reply

