Magenta For Fall

500

is not a color that pops in my mind when I think of autumn but it is out there now. American beautyberry/Callicarpa americana has the added characteristic of blooming and fruiting in the shade which can add color to your garden at this time of year when it is rather gloomy in the shade before major fall color. Birds have already started feasting on them. I hope they remain for a while. I like them and want to see them against dogwood’s and hickory’s autumn hues.

About mothernaturesgarden

Gardening in Tennessee Zone 6 at an average of 744.65' above sea level.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Magenta For Fall

  1. Looks good to me. I like blue colors too but have none at the moment. There are some deep blue berries on the arrowood bush in the early summer.

  2. mothernaturesgarden says:

    Congratulations again on your blog awards.

  3. mothernaturesgarden says:

    I will be visiting your AZ blog to cheer me in winter.

  4. fairegarden says:

    Your capture is amazing, Donna! Almost hypnotic! We have added a small one here, no berries this year but high hopes for the future! 🙂
    Frances

  5. Noelle says:

    What a beautiful color! I love the multi-colors of fall.

  6. Hi Donna, I have seen alot of purple around recently—all different shades of purple. Like you, I have never thought about this as being a Fall color. But–when I started looking, it is definitely all around. Your picture is gorgeous.
    Hugs,
    Betsy

  7. mothernaturesgarden says:

    I enjoy many borrowed views from my neighbor. She has saucer magnolias that bloom intermittenly all summer.

  8. mothernaturesgarden says:

    It is out of my bird watching view. I may propagate and plant another.

  9. mothernaturesgarden says:

    They really grab your attention for a second look.

  10. mothernaturesgarden says:

    That heat last for a long time down your way. The nights here are really cool now.

  11. mothernaturesgarden says:

    My pleasure! It is great to discover something new.

  12. redstudio says:

    Those berries are beautiful! I just looked up Callicarpa in Sunset Western, and they will grow here. Thank you for introducing me to a new plant.

  13. Pam/Digging says:

    American beautyberry is one of my absolute favorite plants in fall. The berries start to purple up just when I think I can’t take summer’s heat anymore, giving me hope for fall. The purple clusters are so beautiful as autumn enters full swing.

  14. Joanne says:

    They really don’t look real such a beautiful colour.

  15. Janet says:

    I echo Cameron and add a catbird or two. Love Callicarpas.

  16. Love the callicarpa berry colors. Great plant. I don’t have one now, but there is one within view in a little park beside my mailbox up at the road. A mockingbird loves to hang out in the beautyberry!

    Cameron

Leave a Reply

