I Wonder

IMG_7258what it is. Weed or wildflower?  We  have had a lot of rain and I was out picking up fallen limbs when I discovered this newly sprouted wild thing.

UPDATE: Thanks to Janet of The Queen of Seaford our wildflower has been identified as Cranefly Orchid/Tipularia discolor.

About mothernaturesgarden

Gardening in Tennessee Zone 6 at an average of 744.65' above sea level.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to I Wonder

  1. Very exciting surprise — I look forward to more pictures as it grows.

  2. mothernaturesgarden says:

    Right. It is a cranefly orchid.

  3. tina says:

    I would say not a weed:)

  4. mothernaturesgarden says:

    My pleasure, Lynn.

  5. mothernaturesgarden says:

    I’m always finding something interesting here.

  6. mothernaturesgarden says:

    Terrestrial, CA.
    There is a lot of decomposing wood in the ground needed for sprouting seeds.

  7. CurtissAnn says:

    We also have been having a lot of rain. I’m rather used to it by now, but hubby says: “Does it ever quit raining here?” Mobile is the wettest city in the USA. 🙂 A terrestial orchid?! I shall look that up. Is it growing out of a fallen/rotted limb? You take gorgeous photos.

  8. Jan says:

    I love it when things pop up like that – adds a little excitement to gardening, doesn’t it.

    Jan
    Always Growing

  9. lynnsgarden says:

    Thanks for visiting and commenting on my blog, MNG! I LOVE the photos of your fast few posts. My favorite..the pitcher plant…awesome!!! It’s exciting finding (and id-ing) a new plant! Can’t wait to see what the blooms look like for these wild orchids 🙂

  10. mothernaturesgarden says:

    If it were not for shade, I would not be gardening. 🙂

  11. Patsi says:

    Sure is interesting !
    Love the leaves growing from the roots…I think that’s what I’m seeing.
    Looks like you have a lot of shade and trees…sorta miss that.

  12. mothernaturesgarden says:

    I’m still wondering how it grows in the winter. Soon the ground and it will be covered in lots of leaves.

  13. bangchik says:

    It’s only mushrooms and orchids that find decayed wood a livable habitat… very nice looking and showy!! ~bangchik

  14. mothernaturesgarden says:

    I have now learned there are corms.

  15. mothernaturesgarden says:

    It looks interesting enough to make you want to investigate.

  16. mothernaturesgarden says:

    I thought it looked orchid related also.

  17. mothernaturesgarden says:

    I like pleasant surprises.

  18. Tatyana says:

    How interesting! I wish I found some good newcomers in my garden! So far, it’s just weeds…

  19. mothernaturesgarden says:

    Janet,
    Not only is it a wildflower, but a terrestrial orchid. Thanks so much for the ID. I know I will have to wait till next year to see the flower, but I will know where and when to be expecting it. Of course, the area will be marked and protected.

  20. autumnbelle says:

    These folded leaves look like pixie’e ears to me. Do they have roots or are they like mushrooms?

  21. Joanne says:

    Looks interesting with those leaves

  22. Gail says:

    It almost looks like some kind of wild orchid related plant. Then it also has that creeping charlie…purple plant look to it, too! Keep an eye on it to see what comes of it! gail

  23. Janet says:

    Hi Donna, here is what I think it is….Crane-fly Orchid (Tipularia discolor). What a great find!

Leave a Reply

