Fall Features

IMG_0499_2

Photo is courtesy of FlashBlack.

Here is a Pileated Woodpecker in all his magnificence. No wonder dead wood falls from the trees every time the wind blows. Picking up branches that fall is a weekly task when you live with a lot of trees. He can be determined as a male because of the red streak behind beak under eye. He is quite large and easily spotted when he flies from tree to tree or when he starts drumming on a hollow tree.

IMG_7183

Apple Gourd

A stop by the farmer’s market to get some more potatoes and I spotted the cucurbits.

IMG_7185

Crown of Thorns Gourd

IMG_0150
Cinderella Pumpkin, Orange , Turban Gourd

IMG_0154

Something came over me back in March when I saw Nepenthes ‘Miranda’ at a garden show and I just had to have it. I actually prefer hardy plants. Maybe it was because it was so lush, exotic, and quite a contrast to the conditions in Tennessee at the time.  I must have been intoxicated with the excitement of the flower show. It didn’t seem so huge in the exhibition hall as riding home with it. As the spell wore off on our way home,  I wondered “Where am I going to put it?”  I did have a nice big window and there it remained until I could take it outside about a month later. I kept it in the shade and well watered during the summer. It does prefer rainwater.  I only had to rescue it being overturned by a squirrel once. It did well and is forming new pitchers at the moment. It makes a great container plant actually for it catches its own food. The leaves are so bountiful, you do have to make sure the water gets into the container and not into the pitchers to dilute them. I thought it would take over the place, but it has remained quite manageable. Miranda found a soft spot in my only buy hardy plants heart and will be spending a safe, warm winter inside with us as well. 🙂

About mothernaturesgarden

Gardening in Tennessee Zone 6 at an average of 744.65' above sea level.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Fall Features

  1. Charlotte says:

    Wonderful pictures!! Love this post.

  2. gail says:

    Hi Donna! I love the PW and their loping flight pattern~There are woods behind my neighbors and they occasionally venture out! gail

  3. mothernaturesgarden says:

    I have experimented with a few in the past as well. This time was more successful.

  4. mothernaturesgarden says:

    Sure it counts. One day you may be tracking him down.

  5. mothernaturesgarden says:

    They do provide a service.

  6. mothernaturesgarden says:

    Their call does sound like you are in the jungle.

  7. mothernaturesgarden says:

    I’ll be right over.

  8. Hi There, Love your photo of the Pileated. I posted all of our woodpeckers recently. Did you see it?

    The gourds are all so pretty–and unique.

    Hugs,
    Betsy

  9. fairegarden says:

    Hi Donna, what a majestic bird. We love to hear their hyena like call as they fly between the trees here too. Your gourd photos are pure art too. I love all gourds and those are mighty fine. Miranda is a beauty, she is happy with her new home! 🙂
    Frances

  10. bangchik says:

    It really warms our heart to think of woodpecker as nature’s worker to drop dead woods quicker, so that trees are all about green and lush and life! … ~bangchik

  11. Titania says:

    Hi Donna; I remember with fondness the woodpeckers. Not here “carpenter” birds only carpenter bees.
    The gourds are wonderful, the colours and shapes so attractive for deco and for eating! I understand that the pitcher plant stole your heart. It is magnificent, many times when I see specimens at the nurseries I am pulled towards the pitchers. I had some in my pond but they have been overgrown and have disappeared. Happy autumn days.

  12. I love woodpeckers. I hear them periodically in trees near my house, but I have yet to see one, with or without a camera in hand. Well, that’s not entirely true — I’m pretty sure I caught a glimpse of one just before it flew across the street. Does that count? haha

    I enjoyed visiting your blog — you live in such a gorgeous area, and such wildlife!

  13. mothernaturesgarden says:

    Good luck with that, Marnie.

  14. Marnie says:

    Those gourds are prefect for fall.

    I have never seen a pileated in this area but I keep looking. Maybe someday I’ll have a great thrill to see one.
    Marnie

  15. Jean says:

    Oh, I am embarrassed for mistaking ‘Flashback’ to be somewhere you’d borrowed, not in the family. It is a great post, the best I enjoyed this morning.

  16. mothernaturesgarden says:

    It is rather dramatic.

  17. mothernaturesgarden says:

    Woodpecker is hubby’s capture, my edit. Come again, Jean.
    Donna

  18. Jean says:

    Your post was such a pleasant surprise, after so many Monday posts elsewhere with mundane photos of family matters or pics and cartoons gleaned off the net. Okay, so the woodpecker isn’t your own work; the gourds and pitcher plant are marvelous.

    I love the ‘pock, pock’ cry of the pileated woodpecker as he moves from tree to tree here.

  19. tina says:

    Miranda is most pretty with those substantial leaves. Glad you found a spot for her inside.

  20. mothernaturesgarden says:

    We may make a bird house out of it, Dave.

  21. mothernaturesgarden says:

    They are usually farther out in the woods but come close when the dogwoods produce seed.
    Donna

  22. mothernaturesgarden says:

    I haven’t seen any. 😉

  23. autumnbelle says:

    Miranda looks lovely perched there near the steps. I bet it helps to reduce the flies population too.

  24. nancybond says:

    I’ve never seen some of those gourds before — I, too, like that apple gourd! We had a pileated woodpecker visit the property last May — it was the first time I’d seen one ‘up close and personal’ and what a large bird it is! You are lucky to have his visit. 🙂

  25. Dave says:

    The apple gourd sure lives up to its name in form! Very neat.

Leave a Reply

