Hibiscus ‘Blue River II’ Seed

IMG_6837

Solid white perennial Hibiscus moscheutos ‘Blue River II ‘ has produced seed this year . If you would like some, email your name and address. First 10 requests will get seed. Germination instructions will be included. US only.

IMG_7148

IMG_7142

You may call it smart weed, knotweed, or lady’s thumb. Since I found it produces lots of seeds that birds like, I let a little persist in my garden.

IMG_7133
Canna foliage is sometimes more attractive than the flowers.

About mothernaturesgarden

Gardening in Tennessee Zone 6 at an average of 744.65' above sea level.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

33 Responses to Hibiscus ‘Blue River II’ Seed

  1. Thanks so much for visiting my blog, Mothernaturesgarden…how exciting to come here and find another gardenblogger who grows Blue River II and loves it, too! I bought mine in 1993 and brought a division with me from Illinois to Texas. It’s always been my favorite hardy hibiscus and was the subject of my first blog post.

    I see we also both like those burgundy-leaved cannas ;-]

    Annie at the Transplantable Rose

  2. Such lovely hibiscus blooms. White and enticing.

  3. Kanak says:

    The white hibiscus is gorgeous! As for the canna foliage…wow! It’s a pleasure to look at your images.

  4. mothernaturesgarden says:

    Thanks, Anna.

  5. mothernaturesgarden says:

    There is always next year.

  6. I like your seed packets—very classy. And that white bloom is an attention grabber.

  7. RobinL says:

    Now that everyone is showing off their lovely cannas, I’m very upset with myself that I only planted one, and it didn’t come up!

  8. mothernaturesgarden says:

    Seed offer is over. NO MORE SEEDS.

  9. mothernaturesgarden says:

    So nice of you to say so.
    Donna

  10. mothernaturesgarden says:

    I never tire of compliments, Joanne.

  11. mothernaturesgarden says:

    Thanks, Gail.

  12. mothernaturesgarden says:

    Thanks for added info, WA.
    Donna

  13. autumnbelle says:

    That’s a very lovely hibiscus of pure white. The petals look like an opened fan. I love hibiscus.

  14. wiseacre says:

    That smartweed is Lady’s Thumb – Polygonum persicaria.

    The common name comes from the thumb print on the middle of the leaves. The reddish mature stems are responsible for it’s other common name – Redleg

    I’ve read that young leaves are good in salads and as cooked greens. The boiled leaves are supposed to be an acceptable ‘wild spinach’.

  15. Joanne says:

    Such a lovely phot of the white Hibiscus although the photos are all lovely.

  16. mothernaturesgarden says:

    Thanks, BC

  17. Gail says:

    The hibiscus flower is gorgeous….The canna is, too. gail

  18. mothernaturesgarden says:

    Tatyana,
    Introduced by Dr. Harold F. Winters who found this beautiful perennial growing along the bank of the Blue River in southern Oklahoma – hence the name.
    Donna

  19. Tatyana says:

    Donna, that hibiscus picture is pretty! Pure white. Why did they name it Blue river? As for the knotweed, I heard something about it medicinal properties, but don’t remember what exactly.

  20. bangchik says:

    What a beautiful white hibiscus…. the petals really spread wide!!
    ~bangchik

  21. Lona says:

    Donna, I am so happy to get the seeds for your white Hibiscus.
    Thank you so much!

  22. mothernaturesgarden says:

    Send your address, Sue.
    Donna

  23. mothernaturesgarden says:

    I favor the hardy plants that can take care of themselves. Send your address for the seeds, Lona.
    Donna

  24. mothernaturesgarden says:

    If we pull most of it out, there will still be some for the birds.
    Donna

  25. mothernaturesgarden says:

    Thanks, Nancy.

  26. mothernaturesgarden says:

    I’ll heed your warning. I had the same experience with river oats.
    Donna

  27. Janet says:

    That is a beautiful white hibiscus Donna. Just lovely!! I would pull that smart weed if I were you….have tons, because I was lax in getting it out last year. It got to be about 3 feet tall and multi-branched. augh!!!

  28. Hi

    Please place name on your seed list—they are so beautiful.

    Sue Whitfield

  29. Lona says:

    It is such a pretty white hibiscus. I would sure like to grow one from seed. Thanks so much for sharing them. I love the Canna leaves. I love the flower but I guess I have no patience with digging the bulbs up every fall. The bulbs usually dry up one me. Maybe I do not keep them the proper way. That is why I only own one Dahlia 😉

  30. tina says:

    It is gorgeous Donna! I too have that knotweed and fight it all the time. It is pretty and I tell you honestly some escapes me:) Guess it is okay if the birds like it.

  31. mothernaturesgarden says:

    Seed on the way, Jan.

  32. It is a lovely white bloom!

  33. nancybond says:

    Oh my gosh, that canna foliage is spectacular! What wonderful colour! Your hibiscus are lovely — what huge blooms. Are they fragrant? As much as I’d love to have the seed, I really have no place to grow them, so I’ll leave that for someone who has a proper garden. 🙂

Leave a Reply

