Late Summer Perennials

IMG_7080

I am clinging to all that late summer allows. With cloudy gray skies and the leaves falling on the swimming pool deck, no matter how I try to avoid it, pangs of melancholy come, for my old friend summer is fading fast. The garden is no longer flushed with exuberant blossoms but transforming into a new beauty.

The last lily to bloom in my garden is Lilium formosanum.  A trellis can be an attractive way to control top heavy plants. To contend with the bittersweet passing of summer, I decided to plan for the future and look for some of the plants I always say I am going to add to the garden but never do. Although I did not find what I was seeking when I stopped by a little nursery in my area, I did find a 50% perennial sale. I bought a couple of gallon containers @ $5 each of Leymus arenarius ‘Blue Dune’

and a couple of Japanese Painted Ferns/Athyrium niponicum ‘Pictum’ @ $4 each. I planted the Blue Lyme Grass in a concrete planter that is high, dry, and hot in summer and the ferns with some heuchera with purple undersides of leaves in the protection of shade. Luckily, I found  Anemone japonica ‘Honorine Jobert’, for which I have longed since I can’t remember when, on Ebay and I have already received and planted it.

Wild perennials that bloom at this time in addition to Joe Pye weed and

IMG_0006

Ironweed,

IMG_7111

are hardy ageratum/Conoclinium coloestinum

IMG_7119

white crownbeard/Verbesina virginica,

IMG_7117

and yellow ironweed/Verbesina alternifolia. The more natives I have in my garden the better I like it.

I pray that the life of this spring and summer may ever lie fair in my memory. Henry David Thoreau

About mothernaturesgarden

Gardening in Tennessee Zone 6 at an average of 744.65' above sea level.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to Late Summer Perennials

  1. mothernaturesgarden says:

    You may enjoy the daylily videos on the sidebar, Titania.
    Donna

  2. Titania says:

    Is summer already waning in your area? To me it looks still very green and so many flowers. Many I do not know but Ageratum. It grows wild here. We do not mow the wild garden so it is at the moment a sea of blue the bees love it. I am planting day lilies, but soon finished as it is already getting hot. We had a few very hot days. Luckily it has cooled down again but it is very dry. Now I am going to look for your posts with day lilies. Have a nice week, Donna.

  3. deb says:

    I love the composition of that top picture. Beautiful plant selections.

  4. You do have an excellent collection of beautiful flowers portrayed in this post and all the names too. What a bountiful harvest it will be for those who need scientific names.

    Thank you very much for visiting My Birds Blog and for the comment you left me there about my Coopers Hawk photograph. My Birds Blog

  5. mothernaturesgarden says:

    You too, Cat.

  6. mothernaturesgarden says:

    Yes, Marnie.
    A bargain just adds to the excitment.
    Donna

  7. mothernaturesgarden says:

    Thanks, JA.

  8. mothernaturesgarden says:

    Not invasive a bit, Rachel. It is in the pasture behind us. 🙂
    Donna

  9. Marnie says:

    The white lily is so beautiful. Perhaps I’ll find one, I’ve never grown them before.

    Love it when I find a great bargain on plants;) I’m always looking.
    Marnie

  10. Catherine says:

    Summer is leaving us way too soon! But still lots of beauty in the garden~ your’s especially so! That is a beautiful lily! And I love ferns, the japanese fern is a fav. love the silvery hues~beautiful capture of your’s!
    Beautiful late Summer Perennials!
    Have a wonderful weekend!
    Cat

  11. Racquel says:

    Late summer can be full of surprises too. Your garden looks lush & lovely this August. Do you find the Ironweed to be invasive? I didn’t realize there was a yellow variety as well.

  12. Joanne says:

    Lovely photos and I love the lily especialy

  13. mothernaturesgarden says:

    If you take notice, there is probably some Verbesina alternifolia in your area.

  14. mothernaturesgarden says:

    Almost all things here encourage hummers.
    Donna

  15. mothernaturesgarden says:

    I have a few mums but am not a big fan of those I think because they are so common.
    Donna

  16. mothernaturesgarden says:

    Thanks for visiting, MK.
    Donna

  17. what a pretty white lily it is. one of the biggest i have seen in a while. Ageratum and verbena are also looking cool. just marvelous.

  18. nancybond says:

    I think it’s a wonderful idea to plan for fall blooms — anything that extends the garden by even a few weeks is a wonderful addition. Your perennials all look beautiful!

  19. Gail says:

    It is hard to say goodbye to all the lovelies~It seems so early but September is just around the corner! Your photos are delightful~~I especially like the long view of the garden. Cleome is a keeper. gail

  20. fairegarden says:

    Hi Donna, your shots are stupendous, the ironwood looks like a movie star, and I had no idea about yellow ironweed! Thanks. Honorine Jobert is on my short list too, glad you could find some, along with your other bargains. I can imagine the blue grass in the concrete planters, an excellent match. 🙂
    Frances

  21. mothernaturesgarden says:

    This is the last time I am trying JPF. I hope it does well.
    Donna

  22. mothernaturesgarden says:

    Those ferns are only a couple of years in the ground here. I long for them to increase. Third year should be a vast improvement.
    Donna

  23. Janet says:

    Hi Donna, Your ferns look great. I am getting to have a greater appreciation for ferns…just minimal space in the shade for them. Lovely garden.

  24. lynnsgarden says:

    Ooh, Donna, that white lily is so perfect! Great additions with the painted fern and anemone. The garden centers are chock full of mums but I want to delay that FALL season as long as I can…since we know what comes too quickly after…Thanks for visiting me 😉
    Lynn

  25. mothernaturesgarden says:

    It’s mutual.
    Donna

  26. FlowerLady says:

    Love your flowers, great photography, and hummingbirds too. You inspire me.

    Have a great weekend ~ FlowerLady

  27. mothernaturesgarden says:

    That is the peek around the corner view, Tina.
    Donna

  28. mothernaturesgarden says:

    Mostly, autumn foliage is the forte here, AB. Of course, there are things that are blooming now till frost gets them.
    Donna

  29. mothernaturesgarden says:

    Patsi,
    I love those that reseed happily.
    Donna

  30. tina says:

    I love the angle of that first picture. Your garden looks most lush and healthy and happy. A good thing!

  31. autumnbelle says:

    I love the white lily and I like the red and green colour of the Japanese painted ferns. Will there be any more flowers when autumn comes?

  32. Patsi says:

    Very interesting lily…wasn’t sure if it was one…pretty cool.
    Love spider flowers, so easy to grow.
    Still waiting for late bloomers myself.

Leave a Reply

