Female Ruby-throated Hummingbird

IMG_0141

A thing of beauty

IMG_0143

is a joy

IMG_0145_2

forever.

IMG_0157

John Keats

Photos by Father Time Editing by Mother Nature

Visit Father Time at Flash Black.

About mothernaturesgarden

Gardening in Tennessee Zone 6 at an average of 744.65' above sea level.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

41 Responses to Female Ruby-throated Hummingbird

  1. Björg Nina says:

    Heisann!

    How nice, I suddenly saw that I had posted my comments under “Female Ruby-throated Hummingbird” instead of “turtlehead”! Never mind, you read it!
    Have a nice weekend!

  2. mothernaturesgarden says:

    I added the translated version of your blog to my sidebar, Nina.
    Donna

  3. Björg Nina says:

    Heisann!

    Greetings from Norway on http://viltogvakkert.blogspot.com/2009/09/turtleheadchelone-obliqua.html.
    Please visit my blog and see/read my comments of turtlehead!

    My blog is called “wild and beautiful”

    Bjorg Nina

  4. Racquel says:

    What gorgeous shots!

  5. mothernaturesgarden says:

    Thanks, Dave.

  6. Dave says:

    Nice pictures!

  7. mothernaturesgarden says:

    Hubby took them, I edited them.
    Donna

  8. mothernaturesgarden says:

    It is really nice over here, Betsy.

  9. Beautiful photos, Donna, of the female Ruby-throated. We are having some hummers at our feeders now (finally) –but still not nearly as many as previous years.

    Are you having a great August??? We had some rain today—and it’s cooler. LOVE it.
    Hugs,
    Betsy

  10. RobinL says:

    The hummers dart in and out of my garden, but I haven’t been able to capture many pictures this year. I did get one of them sitting in my buddleia, but it was taken through the kitchen window, so it’s not the best. It must have taken some patience to capture the ones you took, they’re great!

  11. mothernaturesgarden says:

    She’s unwittingly providing a service, Gail.

  12. Gail says:

    Donna and FT, What wonderful photos…I am assuming that the hummer has pollen on his/her beak! gail

  13. mothernaturesgarden says:

    Thank you, Charlotte.
    Donna

  14. Charlotte says:

    Hi Donna: I have a MeMe award for you and your beautiful blog – please go to my post for more information

  15. mothernaturesgarden says:

    I’m off to take a peek at your poppies.
    Donna

  16. Stunning, stunning, stunning…breathtakingly beautiful 🙂

    Follow the link to my poppies…

    http://ourlittlecornerofparadise.blogspot.com/2009/08/ephemeral-poppies.html

  17. mothernaturesgarden says:

    Come again, Cindee.

  18. cindee says:

    Hi,
    Thank You for stopping by my blog yesterday! I just wanted to stop by and say hi! I love your hummingbird pictures. They are just beautiful!!!

  19. mothernaturesgarden says:

    They are a bit of a tease, Cameron.
    Donna

  20. Wonderful photos!

    We have several hummingbird “regulars” in the garden. One little female is particularly friendly and gets very close to us… unless she sees me with the camera! LOL

    Cameron

  21. mothernaturesgarden says:

    I love visiting other blogs for just that reason, EG.
    Donna

  22. easygardener says:

    Beautiful pictures. I get quite envious reading blogs – wanting what I cannot have – and top of my list is the wish for Hummingbirds 🙂

  23. mothernaturesgarden says:

    Bren,
    Thanks for adding me to your list. See you soon.
    Donna

  24. FABULOUS photography…. I enjoy your blog.
    Thanks for stopping by my site and leaving a comment so I could follow you over here.
    I am adding you to my ‘favorite’ list on my blog so I can return often.

    Happy Summer!

  25. mothernaturesgarden says:

    Hummingbirds will get accustomed to your presence.
    Donna

  26. mothernaturesgarden says:

    Thank you, Tina.
    donna

  27. mothernaturesgarden says:

    Bird photos are always better with a flower.
    Donna

  28. mothernaturesgarden says:

    It is a berry in front of her, Patsi.
    Donna

  29. Janet says:

    Just wonderful Donna! They are such fun little creatures. Great photos– I especially like the last one with the honeysuckle.

  30. Patsi says:

    Can’t figure out what the red is on her rump.
    Wonderful shots.
    The last one is very artsy…like it.

  31. mothernaturesgarden says:

    Thanks, Heather.
    Donna

  32. Unbelievable photography. Wow, these pics are beautiful.

  33. Rose says:

    Beautiful photos, Donna! And the Keats poem is just perfect for them. I have been enjoying watching the hummingbirds so much the last few weeks, but they fly away whenever they spy me with a camera:)

  34. mothernaturesgarden says:

    Good luck with that, Kathleen.
    Donna

  35. mothernaturesgarden says:

    Thanks, Jan.
    Donna

  36. Kathleen says:

    Oh Donna, these are just beautiful. I’ve been hoping for a chance to try photographing hummingbirds again this summer but so far they’ve been in extremely short supply. Getting a few good shots would be the icing on the season.

  37. Jan says:

    Fantastic photos.

    Jan
    Always Growing

  38. Father Time says:

    My pleasure in seeing your adaptations of the photos.

  39. mothernaturesgarden says:

    Thanks to you, FT.

  40. Father Time says:

    Excellent photos, MN. {:>)

Leave a Reply

