Late Season Beauties

IMG_6953
Native Turtlehead/Chelone obliqua is performing its best this year. It is about three and half feet tall and about that wide and is budding.

IMG_6993

Cypress Vine has sprouted in the last few weeks and is beginning to scramble all over everything but I do not mind for there will be a lot of it when the hummingbirds visit on their migration south. I remove all the vines when the frost kills it.

IMG_6991

Sedum telephium ‘Autumn Joy’ is budded.

IMG_6996

Pink honeysuckle/Lonicera heckrottii ‘Pink Lemonade’ continues to bloom.

IMG_0141

Can you see three goldfinches?

IMG_7004

Shasta daisies are still blooming.

IMG_7011

More and more Cleome hassieriana are blooming in the garden.

About mothernaturesgarden

Gardening in Tennessee Zone 6 at an average of 744.65' above sea level.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Late Season Beauties

  1. mothernaturesgarden says:

    You are always welcome here.

  2. mothernaturesgarden says:

    Stop by anytime, Robbay. Going to visit your blog.

  3. Robbay says:

    Beautiful photography…I enjoyed my visit to your blog. Robbay The Cartoonist. Thanks

  4. Teresa says:

    Your blog is so wonderful! The photos are amazing. Iespecially like the one of the finch on the lattice. Just Great! I will be back!

  5. mothernaturesgarden says:

    Anna,
    Summer is shorter here than what I am accustomed so I relish it especially this one which has been mild. I should plant something to attract Monarchs. I haven’t seen any.
    Donna

  6. I did see the three finches. Isn’t it kind of sad that the flowers will soon be fading—but so grand that the Monarchs have arrived! Actually this is my favorite time of year. I love Autumn more than anything. I love the smell of spices and pumpkin pies. I can’t wait to wake up one morning and there will be a chill in the air. Looks like it won’t be next week as we are expecting another round of heat.

  7. JG says:

    I have never seen or heard of a Turtlehead. Could you post a photo of the flower, later? The Goldfinch like our Shasta, also, here in MA. Such pretty photos!

  8. Gail says:

    Wonderful photos Donna~~love the goldfinches…I can never get them to hold still! I just noticed the cypress vine is blooming here…thanks for the reminder to look. gail

  9. mothernaturesgarden says:

    Thanks, Janet.
    Donna

  10. mothernaturesgarden says:

    I’m on my way to visit your blog, Betsy.
    Donna

  11. Janet says:

    ‘Pink Lemonade’ is sure cute. Love the gold finches!

  12. Hi Friend, How are you???? Love seeing the Goldfinch —and I love seeing your Sedum. We have quite a bit of it around our yard. It is so pretty in the fall.

    Check my blogs (yesterday’s and today’s). I wrote ‘my’ story..
    Hugs,
    Betsy

  13. mothernaturesgarden says:

    Turtlehead is my new favorite wildflower. Donna

    Sent from my iPhone

  14. mothernaturesgarden says:

    I didn’t notice them in the rudbeckias for a long time because they blend in so well. Donna

    Sent from my iPhone

  15. mothernaturesgarden says:

    Cleome is great when you need something open and airy. Donna

    Sent from my iPhone

  16. mothernaturesgarden says:

    I can save seed and send you some, Frances. Donna

    Sent from my iPhone

  17. fairegarden says:

    All lovely, Donna. I envy your cypress vine, knowing how the hummers love it so. As a matter of fact, I envy you being on the hummer migration path too. 🙂
    Frances

  18. Tatyana says:

    Isn’t a cleome just beautiful? I like all your images Donna, the first one especially.

  19. tina says:

    Such a cute picture of the finches. I love the turtlehead.

  20. nancybond says:

    I had to look hard for that third goldfinch. 🙂 He’s well disguised. Your garden really looks vibrant and lovely.

  21. mothernaturesgarden says:

    The first time I tried cypress vine, there was one tiny vine. I noticed a robust one down the street and knew it should prosper. The next year there were many vines. It self sows and doesn’t sprout till it is nice and warm. I try things two or three times before I give up. Good luck.
    Donna

  22. Joy says:

    You have so many wonderful plants blooming right now : )
    I tried Cypress Vine but I wasn’t too successful .. yours looks lovely !

Leave a Reply

