Our Homegrown Tomatoes

IMG_6935

are still green and you can get big, vine ripened at the store at this time of year. And yet, we still plant them every year. πŸ™‚ The cherry tomatoes do better here.

IMG_6942

We are having hamburgers from the grill today with a thin Β slice of onion to go with that tomato, don’t breathe on me, and all other fixings. Ribs, too. Yum. Life is good.

IMG_6943

We’ll munch on these chips and Rotel dip until the burgers are ready.

IMG_6949

Make mine a Pepsi, please.

IMG_6952

Open wide. Chef Roger outdid himself today. πŸ™‚

About mothernaturesgarden

Gardening in Tennessee Zone 6 at an average of 744.65' above sea level.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to Our Homegrown Tomatoes

  1. Kanak says:

    Donna, your food pictures are awesome!!

  2. mothernaturesgarden says:

    thanks, g

  3. Gail says:

    It looks wonderful…g

  4. mothernaturesgarden says:

    I agree.

  5. mothernaturesgarden says:

    What’s your pleasure, Dave?
    Donna

  6. Dave says:

    Except for the Pepsi I’ll take one of everything please. πŸ˜‰ Looks great!

  7. mothernaturesgarden says:

    There is still hope for the green ones.
    Donna

  8. mothernaturesgarden says:

    Coming right up, Frances.
    Donna

  9. mothernaturesgarden says:

    We grill outside almost everyday on a gas grill on the deck because it is so convenient and tastes so good. My favoritie is what ever is cooking today.:)
    Donna

  10. mothernaturesgarden says:

    A trip is an excellent way to celebrate a birthday, Betsy. I enjoy seeing your travels documented on your blog.
    Donna

  11. Hi Donna, I’m catching up –after being gone for a week. We had a great vacation in Florida and I enjoyed my birthday tremendously.

    Your burgers look tremendous… That’s one of my favorite things to eat…. YUM!!! And the chips with that dip look great also. Can I come for dinner?????

    Have a great week.
    Hugs,
    Betsy

  12. I think many of us still try to grow our own tomatoes even if the ones from the store are less work. Someone should do a scientific blindfold test, but I sure think almost anything home-made or home-grown would win out in the end over something from the store.

  13. Oh Donna, it’s 10:30 and I’m getting ready for bed! I would have stopped in for dinner earlier if I’d known that’s what you were having! Mmm, the tomatoes look wonderful, and so juicy! That burger sure looks good! Isn’t it true that some of the simpler things in life are some of the best? There’s nothin’ like ‘fresh from the garden’!

  14. fairegarden says:

    Hi Donna, your meal looks delicious, and that tomato is perfection. We have had a good tomato year, but no squash or cukes. Thank goodness for the farmer’s market. I love fritos too. But make mine ginger ale, Schweppes please. HA
    Frances

  15. Titania says:

    Life looks pretty good like this! Great photos, well done. We plant always tomatoes, they might not look as pristine as the bought one’s but they are tasty. Tomatoes are fickle plants when the climate is not absolute to their liking!

  16. mothernaturesgarden says:

    Kathleen,
    We haven’t been having tomato weather. We may have to have fried green tomatoes.
    Donna

  17. Kathleen says:

    I just ate and now I feel I could eat again! Darn it. Delicious that’s for sure. I agree, nothing better than a homegrown tomato. I wish mine would hurry up and ripen!

  18. mothernaturesgarden says:

    I know it was delicious.

  19. Randy says:

    Donna,
    One of our readers just posted this for you. Check it out:

    http://www.bodyresults.com/S2stone.asp

    It seems very simple.–Randy

  20. bangchik says:

    The tomato is so red…. I love it, and that’s a sign that it comes from a very healthy plant. ~bangchik

  21. mothernaturesgarden says:

    We make-do, as they say, till ours are ripe. We also frequent the farmers market and a farmer that lives nearby. I love the tomato sandwiches.
    Donna

  22. Randy says:

    Even this time of year, store bought tomatoes can not hold a candle to home grown. They just don’t taste the same. I eat a lot of tomato sandwiches in the summer. :-)–Randy

  23. mothernaturesgarden says:

    Thanks for the tomato suggestion. I’ll be on the look out for that, Pomona. We thought the post looked like a Pepsi ad.:)
    Donna

  24. Definitely appetite-provoking pictures! (Sure you aren’t advertising tomatoes – or hamburgers?) Have you tried Stupice? It’s a small (but not cherry-size) early tomato, E. European I believe. A friend just gave me some and they’re definitely worth your early-tomato consideration.

  25. mothernaturesgarden says:

    I should post a Notice: Read after meals. πŸ™‚
    Donna

  26. autumnbelle says:

    Donna, the photos look so delicious, I am getting hungry now. I need my breakfast soon.

  27. mothernaturesgarden says:

    You know dark chocolate is now considered a health food full of antioxidants. Dip some dried fruit or nuts in it and you are totally healthy.:)
    Donna

  28. linda says:

    You have a gorgeous blog! The sweets look delish and that burger about jumped off the page into my mouth! well, the cupcake did first… And what a lovely garden you have.

    thank you for that nice comment you left me today so I could meet you. I will be back soon to see what else you’re up to! As for me, it’s a bath for now. πŸ™‚

  29. mothernaturesgarden says:

    Me, too.
    Donna

  30. mothernaturesgarden says:

    It is back to the garden to try to work it off, Nancy.
    Donna

  31. mothernaturesgarden says:

    Yes, I need to go pull some more weeds, too. I’ve been cutting back dayliles and cleaning up the bed. Big job!
    Donna

  32. kerri says:

    That looks good enough to eat!!! πŸ™‚ Your chef “Roger” outdid himself. Lucky you!
    The white lily in the post below is so beautiful and those crinum lilies are such a beautiful shade of pink.
    You’ve made me hungry…thank you very much! I’d better scurry out to the garden and pull some weeds…far away from anything edible πŸ™‚ (I just ate lunch).

  33. nancybond says:

    Oh my, does that ever look delicious! Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

