Miniature Evergreen

L1010538

The green frog can be brown and can be heard croaking away even inside the house from his watery pond just beside the deck steps while the faux frog spits keeping the surface agitated.

L1010537

Perhaps you require an evergreen for a tiny spot or a container as I did near the pond.

IMG_6901

Try Chamaecyparis obtusa ‘Golden Sprite’. It is hardy in zone 6.  I lost one in a container,  however, it was only a 4 inch container.  It would probably be OK in a larger container.  Online info says it can withstand minus temps. That has not been my experience.  New growth is yellow. Mature size is about the size of a cantaloupe. It needs a little shade protection in hot summer.  After researching a bit, I have found its reputation to be finicky and ‘Butter Ball’ to be an alternative.  Please share your experience if you grow this plant.

L1010540

I forgot the name of this one but it is about two feet tall.

IMG_6911

Late Blooming Lilium

About mothernaturesgarden

Gardening in Tennessee Zone 6 at an average of 744.65' above sea level.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Miniature Evergreen

  1. Teresa says:

    Frog photo is great. Love the texture it shows of what everyone assumes is wet and slimey.

  2. mothernaturesgarden says:

    Thank you, Cynthia. I enjoyed my visit.
    Donna

  3. mothernaturesgarden says:

    I am for attracting anything that eats insects. I considered them beneficial to the garden.
    Donna

  4. Cynthia says:

    What beautiful photos you have posted here! The photo of the lily is amazing. Thank you for stopping by my blog and leaving such nice comments. 🙂

  5. Lovely lovely love macro shots! I am jealous over the frog, wish I had one in my garden, but I guess I need to build a water garden first, build it and they will come 🙂

  6. mothernaturesgarden says:

    That is just one frog. Sometimes there is a chorus.
    Donna

  7. Ramona says:

    It’s amazing how much noise one tiny frog can make. That lily is beautiful. Great photo’s.

    Thanks for stopping by my blog.

    Ramona

  8. mothernaturesgarden says:

    Thanks, Nancy

  9. nancybond says:

    What gorgeous photos! Your garden looks so lovely!

  10. mothernaturesgarden says:

    Thanks, Tessa,
    One day you will probably get pond fever and there will be no stopping you.
    Donna

  11. Tessa says:

    That Lily shot is so good! I feel like I can pick it up- fantastic! I wish I had frogs or toads in my garden. Maybe some day I’ll build something to attract them- for now it will have to wait because we might be moving. The evergreen is very quaint 🙂 Thanks for stopping by!

  12. mothernaturesgarden says:

    We have had so much rain this year watering has not been a problem.
    Donna

  13. VW says:

    Hi MNG, Your little evergreens are so cute. I have this awful problem of killing the stuff in my pots, though, so I’m hesitant to invest in a real shrub since I’ll probably fry it. I really need a drip system on a timer to water pots for me . . . a project for down the road. Thanks for stopping by to see my daylilies – I’m pleased as punch to see them all blooming this year, some for the first time.

  14. mothernaturesgarden says:

    Thanks, Randy.

  15. mothernaturesgarden says:

    After I lost the first one, that is exactly what I did, Frances. The second one is bigger variety and makes it through winter.
    Donna

  16. fairegarden says:

    Hi Donna, such a sweet set of frogs, real and faux. We have a concrete one on our pond too. I love your little evergreen. Keeping things alive in pots over the winter is always tricky. Sometimes we get too much rain, then sharp freezes that does them in. Hope yours make it, for it is truly a little gem. Could you put it in the ground by the pond maybe?
    Frances

  17. Randy says:

    That’s a pretty incredible picture of the Lily. You should frame that one and display it. 🙂

  18. mothernaturesgarden says:

    I’m glad we are with those having the cool weather, Abe. OK, I’ll go to PPP. 🙂

  19. mothernaturesgarden says:

    Meredith,
    My hubby is always rescuing frogs from the swimming pool filter and putting them in the pond.
    Donna

  20. Meredith says:

    Ooh, nice frog picture. We just got our first frog visitor to our pond yesterday (we normally have many, many toads)– we found him in the dog pool and helped him get to the actual pond. I’ll be posting a picture of him later today, Maybe you can help me identify him!

  21. That little evergreen is a real stunner. I would grow that here in a second if it could stand up to minus 25 or so in the winter. Although this summer, July and August so far, have been stunners in themselves. We had the coldest July ever recorded and August is following the same pattern. Instead of being hot and humid like the tropics in July and August, it has been cold and down in the middle 50s in the mornings. That is cold.

    I have enjoyed coming here to your blog and I am amazed at the Frog or Toad or …? I think frogs are neat and some indication of how well your environment is growing. If a frog lives there then things are better than average. In my area they say if a crow lands and makes himself at home the environment is excellent. And I have had crows. LOL

    Help make history. Tell your friends about my project. Is it possible to get 10,000 visitors on my new blog, Pick a Peck of Pixels? If you like it, please either become a Follower or leave a comment. Help me Make History.
    Pick a Peck of Pixels

  22. mothernaturesgarden says:

    I like garden surprises.
    Donna

  23. mothernaturesgarden says:

    Evergreens no matter size are especially appreciated in the winter when we are not so dazzled by flowers.
    Donna

  24. autumnbelle says:

    The evergreen miniatures look like bonsai christmas trees. The lilium is very beautiful. I like the portrait from this angle.

  25. Patsi says:

    Sweet little evergreen. Seems everyone is having a off season with late bloomers.
    Kids must love the frogs !

Leave a Reply

