Ligularia dentata

IMG_6866

Ligularia dentata or more recently Farfugium japonicum

I will have to move it if it doesn’t do better in its third year. A handsome shade plant with huge leaves and colorful daisy-like flowers makes a bold statement in the shade garden. One common name is leopard plant because one variety has random yellow spots.  This plant has also been through a name change confusing info further with many synonyms.  Although it is getting lots of rain this year, it is planted in a rather dry location. Time will tell.

Amazingly, I did not lose my cake photos after all.

IMG_6868

With some of this single chocolate layer cake topped with carmalized pecan halves, all I need is a glass of milk or maybe just a scoop of vanilla

IMG_6888

and serve it with a cherry on top.

About mothernaturesgarden

Gardening in Tennessee Zone 6 at an average of 744.65' above sea level.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to Ligularia dentata

  1. Ramona says:

    I say have ice cream and a big glass of milk. Yum, looks tasty.

    Ramona

  2. mothernaturesgarden says:

    There is one called Rocket that has tall spikes of flowers also and more deeply serrated leaves.

  3. mothernaturesgarden says:

    I wear my plants out moving them to a more perfect location. They definitely need a more moist place.

  4. wiseacre says:

    Mine are just about ready to bloom. The single plant of years ago is now a thriving colony in a moist spot. It is surprising how well they self seed in an area of their liking. I’ve also found them easy to transplant.

    Now how about a piece of that cake? Please.

  5. Keewee says:

    I bought a Ligularia at a plant sale but do not know which variety it is. I am looking forward to seeing the blooms next year as it is a young plant yet.

  6. mothernaturesgarden says:

    I’ll get a napkin.

  7. mothernaturesgarden says:

    I have to get back into the garden and stop eating cake.
    Donna

  8. That looks like some kind of good. Both the plant (which I hope thrives soon) and that fabbo cake. Yum, yum.~~Dee

  9. mothernaturesgarden says:

    Hope you enjoyed Joshua Bell, WG.
    Donna

  10. Thank you for commenting on my Our Little Corner Of Paradise 🙂

    I have trawled backwards through your posts to get the feeling of your garden and to find the video you made with the Thais Meditation playing in the background. You have a very beautiful paradise, with oodles of hemerocallis, which I also love, though I only have four varieties in my garden.

    It has been a real pleasure to visit you..wonderful photography and superb camera work in your videos 🙂

  11. Yum! (To both the foliage and the cake… although I must say that right now, the cake is seriously making me drool. 🙂

  12. mothernaturesgarden says:

    thanks, AB

  13. Autumnbelle says:

    Lovely blooms with equally delicious looking cake and ice-cream. What a perfect match.

  14. mothernaturesgarden says:

    Saved by distance.
    Donna

  15. Oh my goodness gracious does that look good…I think I feel my waist expanding just looking at those delicious pictures!!! Kim

  16. mothernaturesgarden says:

    It likes lots of water and can be grown around a pond. It probably can have more sun the farther north you go or lower the zone number. I first saw it in Atlanta Botanical Garden. You know it is hot there. It was in shade.

  17. Patsi says:

    Had the Ligularia dentata for 3-4 years. Very distinct looking plant.
    Did not return this year….maybe not enough sun. Keep trying to see what will live in shade 😦

  18. mothernaturesgarden says:

    Ooops, I can see I should have put more info.
    Donna

  19. mothernaturesgarden says:

    There is something for everyone, Cameron.
    Donna

  20. Lola says:

    Love that plant. Will have to research to see if it will grow here.
    Ice Cream & milk sounds good.

  21. I don’t have enough shade for the plant, so I’ll just look at the delicious desserts! 🙂

    Cameron

  22. mothernaturesgarden says:

    My garden would be so lush if my botanical dreams and aspirations came true. I had higher expectations for this plant because of one I saw in a botanical garden.
    Donna

  23. Tatyana says:

    Hi Donna! I love the leaves, especially young glossy ones. As for the cake and ice-cream – send them my way, we need them today! Thank you for the nice note on my B-day post!

  24. mothernaturesgarden says:

    There are varieties with yellow spots, dark foliage, fimbriated leaves, etc.
    Donna

  25. mothernaturesgarden says:

    Shade and plenty of water is like magic for it.
    Donna

  26. Randy says:

    Oh my! What wonderful desserts! I’m not familiar with the plant, but I’m going to research it. :-)–Randy

  27. tina says:

    I have this guy too and it too is blooming. It is my second attempt at growing it. The first failed so I was ecstatic to see this one bloom. I love the leaves forget about the blooms. Mine is planted under a downspout where it gets absolutely no sun. I think that is the trick. Good luck with yours!

  28. mothernaturesgarden says:

    Dessert first is what I always say.
    Donna

  29. Janet says:

    YUMMMMMMMMMMM!! with a cherry on top! 🙂

Leave a Reply

