Lamb’s Ears

L1010531
Stachys byzantina ‘Helen Von Stein’ is a good variety with large, gray, furry ears and few, if any, blooms. It’s the fuzzy foliage that is desirable. Although large, it stays neat and compact.

IMG_6855

Gardeners can not live on bread alone, they must have cupcakes.  Buttery cupcakes

IMG_6856

with dark chocolate taste a lot better than they look. Wanna bite?

IMG_6852

Crinum lilies continue to open.

About mothernaturesgarden

Gardening in Tennessee Zone 6 at an average of 744.65' above sea level.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

33 Responses to Lamb’s Ears

  1. mothernaturesgarden says:

    Hi, Sherry,
    It is quite silver but not as silvery when wet.
    Donna

  2. Sherry says:

    The Lamb Ears I grow are silvery and have large purple blooms. The bees love the blooms. They do spread but are easy to pull and I really love the fuzzy leaves and all the bees.
    Your green variety looks very pretty.
    Looking forward to reading your blog and getting to know you and your gardens.
    Happy August.
    Sherry

  3. mothernaturesgarden says:

    It’s the best, Balisha.
    Donna

  4. mothernaturesgarden says:

    I have to be careful and not feed too much or hubby takes a nap.:)
    Donna

  5. Hey Girlie, You are right… Gardeners need FOOD—in order to work hard in the garden… Those cupcakes look like the perfect food for me. Can you send me one please?????? Thanks!!!!! ha

    Your lilies are gorgeous. Ours are almost gone now… But–the hummingbirds are here finally.
    Hugs,
    Betsy

  6. Balisha says:

    What a delight to come here today and look at your beautiful photos. Isn’t summer wonderful?

  7. mothernaturesgarden says:

    You are so welcome.
    Have a good day.
    Donna

  8. mothernaturesgarden says:

    Cameron,
    I imagine that is a striking effect in your garden.

  9. Nice synchronicity:
    1.I have a dog named who Lily. I call her super soft ears lambs ears.
    2. I want a cupcake.

    Thank you for your VERY kind comment on my blog.xoxo

  10. Big Ears work great as edging plants. I keep dividing mine to edge one of the garden beds.

    Yummm…. cupcakes!

    Cameron

  11. mothernaturesgarden says:

    Many plants are prickly making soft touchable lamb’s ears more attractive than ever. Tactile beauty!

  12. Lzyjo says:

    MMMMMM!!! I thought the cupcake looked perfect without frosting then I scrolled down!!!! That’s lamb’s ears is beautiful, the mound shape is lovely and of course I want to just reach out and touch the fuzzy leaves.

  13. mothernaturesgarden says:

    Hi Nancy,
    It is difficult choice. 🙂

  14. mothernaturesgarden says:

    Thanks, IGW

  15. nancybond says:

    Wow! I’m not sure what impresses me the most! 🙂 The Lamb’s Ear is so large and healthy looking…the cupcakes look scrumptious…and those candy pink lilies are beautiful! I’ll take one of each, please. 🙂

  16. WOW, what eye candy! Flowers and cupcakes, what could be better?

  17. mothernaturesgarden says:

    You mean the universal language of food and flowers?? 🙂

  18. mothernaturesgarden says:

    Lamb’s ears are in there second year. I’m expecting great things the third year.
    Donna

  19. fairegarden says:

    Hi Donna, two wonderful things, the large fuzzy leaves of lambs ear and cupcakes with chocolate icing. You are talking my language.
    Frances

  20. Patsi says:

    Huge lambs ear !!
    Amazing all the different plants out there.
    I try to have a good selection….sun and space play a big part in that.

    I think it’s time to eat 🙂

  21. mothernaturesgarden says:

    I find it goes well with gardening, Jan.
    Donna

  22. Janet says:

    Chocolate!!! oops. sorry, Love Helen von Stein, a very nice variety of Stachys. Love that hot pink Crinum!

  23. mothernaturesgarden says:

    My daughter first wanted lamb’s ears. After seeing hers, I had to have some.
    Donna

  24. mothernaturesgarden says:

    Chuckle, Chuckle!

  25. mothernaturesgarden says:

    A little dash of coffee makes chocolate so much tastier.
    Donna

  26. mothernaturesgarden says:

    The weather has been unusual and beneficial.
    Donna

  27. mothernaturesgarden says:

    They are long gone. Smack!
    Donna

  28. Racquel says:

    Those are lush looking Lamb’s Ears. Yep I would love a bite of those yummy looking cupcakes, chocolate icing is my fave. 😉

  29. Kanak says:

    Wonder shots! The cupcakes look heavenly!

  30. It’s been a good year for crinums here in Charleston. Plenty of spring rain and plenty of summer heat! Looks like yours are also liking the summer.

  31. Randy says:

    Those cupcakes are making my mouth water! Or “mouse” water as a Latino friend of mine says. He just can’t seem to get the word mouth correct. LOL

  32. Lola says:

    LOL That is terrific. I wouldn’t mind having one. Love that Lamb’s Ear. All flowers.

Leave a Reply

