I Love the Woods

L1010490

Rudbeckias surround the pool and the goldfinches have discovered that some of the seeds are ripe and ready for feasting. The goldfinches almost disappear in the golden yellow rudbeckias.

IMG_6823

When it rains it is easy to move this huge Nephrolepsis obliterata ‘Kimberly Queen’  out for a refreshing shower. I have one flanking each side of the back entrance. I replace them each year but you can hold them through winter by cutting them back, put the rootball in a frost free area, and replant the next growing season. In warmer climates, they can be mulched during winter and they return in the spring. Another option is to use them or a portion of them as a potted plant during winter. If grown in more sunlight, they have a more upright habit.

Almost anywhere you look from my house there is a cool wall of green creating a peaceful ambiance. Shade renders temperatures about ten degrees cooler than sunny spaces making a garden stroll an option most of the time. There are woodland creatures and this seems to be the year of the rabbit. You must read  The Orchestra on Pamela’s blog, From the House of Edward about nature’s music.

by EnglishHeroes

IMG_6830
Crinum x ‘Ellen Bosanquet’

About mothernaturesgarden

Gardening in Tennessee Zone 6 at an average of 744.65' above sea level.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to I Love the Woods

  1. mothernaturesgarden says:

    They were more upright when I bought them, Meems
    Donna

  2. mothernaturesgarden says:

    I find the music so soothing.
    Donna

  3. Lola says:

    That was awesome, Donna. I really like that kind of music. Go to sleep with it every night. The video was terrific. I couldn’t take my eyes off it.
    I love to be outside–I think there’s more to offer a little farther north.
    You have some very pretty flowers & that fern!!!

  4. Meems says:

    Hi Donna,
    Those Rudbekia are making me so envious. I’m trying hard to grow some and get some blooms but I don’t think they like my fertile soil. *sigh*. And the goldfinches leave us in April… maybe those are ones that were feeding here in the winter?? Very pretty fern (so full and lively) and crinum flower is stunning… the video was so peaceful. I LOVE the woods,too.

    I’m wondering if your fern is what we call Boston Fern. It grows crazy wild here — even in the ground. I confess I am constantly pulling it out as it will take over given free reign.
    A lovely visit here, Donna~~ I scrolled down and enjoyed all the pretty blooms of previous posts as well. Thanks.
    Meems @ Hoe and Shovel

  5. mothernaturesgarden says:

    Rainwater is about my only tip, Jan. It is watered with the hose almost everyday it doesn’t rain. I started with a two gallon plant. My patio is covered so it is in shade. Good luck.
    Donna

  6. Jan says:

    I have a Kimberly Queen, but I guess I haven’t taken care of it as well as you have. You have inspired me to repot mine so that it will eventually look as nice as yours.

    Jan
    Always Growing

  7. mothernaturesgarden says:

    I see the insects more on the really warm days and we have had only a few.
    Donna

  8. Patsi says:

    Loved the video !
    I’ll have to check out the nature music…just what I need.
    That’s some zoom lens you have,I have an ok/good one mentioned on my blog.
    Our bird and bee population seems to have disappeared this year…very,very strange…keep waiting for it to change.

  9. mothernaturesgarden says:

    Thank you, Tanya. I’m glad you enjoy.
    Donna

  10. Tanya walton says:

    Such beautiful pictures…you have a wonderful eye for a good photo and a very pretty garden

  11. mothernaturesgarden says:

    Gail,
    Mosquitos are so miniscule compared to the ones we had in MS, we don’t even notice them. Plus, we get lots of wind.
    Donna

  12. gail says:

    That was a lovely video Donna. The birds were singing their hearts out, the caterpillars munching away and pretty music….I haven’t noticed the goldfinches on the rudbeckia, but mine is just now blooming…they have found the gaillardia. I would like a bit more sun on the sunny Susan’s Bed and less mosquitoes! gail

  13. mothernaturesgarden says:

    Good luck with the move, Janet.

  14. mothernaturesgarden says:

    We have similar gardens.

  15. tina says:

    You just can’t beat the shade. I love mine! The temperature difference is very noticeable. The goldfinch picture is a good shot. I never see them on my brown eyes. Darn!

  16. Janet says:

    I love watching the Goldfinches on the Rudbeckia! Very pretty fern. Maybe once we move I might get some indoor ferns.

Leave a Reply

