Surprise

IMG_6784
IMG_6788_2
After a soaking summer rain, if bloom succession has been considered and enough  planted, we can

expect something new. In my garden although other things are blooming, the basic summer succession  is

daylily, Oriental lily, naked ladies/Lycoris squamigera. Naked ladies are so called for the scapes shoot

up without leaves or sometimes surprise or magic lily because one day there is nothing and seemingly the

next a flower. The color is unusual due to a blue cast overlay. I like them and have quite a display which

will be evident in the next few days. Stay tuned.

IMG_6789

Only a few daylilies now, but Best Kept Secret is nice. I’m eager to see if the well timed rain will generate an

abundant re-bloom. I have been busily removing all old scapes and seed pods, except for a few selected, to

induce re-bloom of those genetically inclined. We’ll see.

IMG_6775

There are several large clumps of phlox I can count on at this time of year. They are tall and right at eye level

when you walk by giving a feeling of being immersed in flowers. Although they are tall, they are strong and

can weather storms without damage.

IMG_6737


Desert rose continues to unfurl its eye-popping color with several more buds remaining. I should probably

shelter it from getting too much rain now since it is a succulent.

IMG_6795

My beautiful white hibiscus continues to bloom. I think the rain helps it combat its assailants. Many plants

can combat insects better if they are not suffering from drought.

IMG_6799

I like to see spangles of cleome around the garden. It seems they bloomed earlier last year.

There are many sprouts about so there will be more until fall frosts.


Remember to visit May Dreams Gardens for GBBD to see what is blooming around the world.



About mothernaturesgarden

Gardening in Tennessee Zone 6 at an average of 744.65' above sea level.
This entry was posted in Summer and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

44 Responses to Surprise

  1. mothernaturesgarden says:

    Funny you should mention the desert rose. I went right out and removed it from the rain. Thanks. Sturt’s Desert pea, Swainsonia formosa, is awesome. Donna

  2. Titania says:

    A very enchanting display. In my mothers garden, Phlox was summer. I still have that hankering after it, does not want to grow in my garden! I can imaging how beautiful yours is, tall and scented and wonderful. Lycoris and “naked ladies” do well! I have lost my desert Rose due to wet, so be careful. It is such a special plant. Desert plants have such exuberant flowers. Here it is the Sturt’s Desert pea, Swainsonia formosa, with brilliant scarlet petals and and shiny black. Your photos are brilliant. Beautiful daylily. I collect the seeds too.

  3. ~~Rhonda says:

    Donna, the surprise lilies are showing themselves in our garden. Noticed the first ones two days ago. We’re zone 6b, but we’ve had unusually cool weather the past few weeks. Perhaps our surprise lilies are a tad late because of it. ~~Rhonda

  4. mothernaturesgarden says:

    I wish you rain, Jean. I know what it is like to find anything other than sitting in air conditioning unbearable.

  5. mothernaturesgarden says:

    Rhonda,
    Thank goodness I noticed your post just before I deleted the spam file it was somehow filtered into. Thank you for your comments.
    Yes, the DR goes in and out with the season.
    Donna
    Zone 6

  6. mothernaturesgarden says:

    I know you will soon find balance in your life. Have fun working out the details.
    Donna

  7. CurtissAnn says:

    Hi, Donna. What beautiful and refreshing blooms! So alive as if I could reach out and touch them. Such a gift, as no more is blooming around here. Dear Hubby has Naked Ladies back in OK. Visiting your site gave me a lot of pleasure. I haven’t been getting around, so very little time since I have moved. And maybe about a children’s book. One never knows. 🙂
    Hugs,
    CurtissAnn

  8. mothernaturesgarden says:

    They may come up when it gets hotter, Abe. Mine did.
    Donna

  9. I do see you have some very nice flowers here. And, I see my favorite, the Cleome. I love these flowers all except the sticky part. That reminds me of petunias. I only have one this summer which is almost impossible to believe as we had a lot last summer and while I saved seed, as I do each year, I had no idea the seed dropped from all those plants were not going to come up. But, they didn’t come up. Only one single plant sprouted and is growing now out of what must have been millions of seeds. The only thing I can figure out is that our winter did a number of the seeds.

    Anyway, I still got the seed from last year.

    Thanks for visiting my birds blog.

  10. mothernaturesgarden says:

    Thanks, Steve,
    I was just admiring your stone work.
    Donna

  11. Steve says:

    I absolutely adored that picture of the Desert Rose. I plant a lot of those and your picture-taking abilities bring out the color incredibly well.

  12. mothernaturesgarden says:

    There is nothing as sweet as a cool summer breeze, Dee.

  13. mothernaturesgarden says:

    Thanks, Betsy.
    I am impressed with your beautiful garden as well.
    Donna

  14. Absolutely yummy blooms. I have some similar ones, but my phlox seems late this year, and it’s been so hot. A cold front came through tonight giving much needed breezes. Happy Bloom Day, MN.~~Dee

  15. Hi Donna, As usual, your photos and yard (flowers) are just incredible. I love the Phlox… They are really pretty this time of year. We have Vinca and Impatiens planted in 3 of our beds. Your Best Kept Secret Daylily is beautiful. So are the Hibiscus and the Desert Rose. Thanks for sharing!!!! They are incredible!!!!
    Hugs,
    Betsy

  16. ~~Rhonda says:

    Donna, your photos are super. Crisp with great detail. Wondering which zone you garden in. Is your desert rose potted and goes it go in and out according to season? The blossom is beautiful. Love cleome. My grandmother always had them in her garden. We have surprise lilies all over the yard. Haven’t seen any stalks yet, but it’s coming up on the right time of year. Love, love, love those pinky-blue blossoms. ~~Rhonda 🙂

  17. mothernaturesgarden says:

    It was a pleasure, Tatyana. I’ll be back.
    Donna

  18. Tatyana says:

    Donna, I love all your blooms! Cleome and lilies are one of my favorites! Thanks for visiting my garden!

  19. mothernaturesgarden says:

    The hummingbirds like them also, Teresa.
    Donna

  20. Those cleomes are very interesting looking. This is the first year I have planted them and they are a treat. Your photos are just great!

  21. mothernaturesgarden says:

    Thanks, TM,
    We can dream.

  22. Town Mouse says:

    Happy bloom day, Mother Nature. Everything looks so luscious! Love the hibiscus, makes me think of a trip to Hawaii.

  23. mothernaturesgarden says:

    DR is actually a shrub but a tender pot plant for me, Racquel.
    Donna

  24. Racquel says:

    That Desert Rose is a beauty Donna. Is it a vine or shrub? I love those ‘Naked Ladies’, they really are a magical surprise indeed. Happy Bloom Day! 😉

  25. mothernaturesgarden says:

    Thanks.

  26. mothernaturesgarden says:

    I know what those high temps are like when the only option is to stay in air cooled comfort. I’m wishing you rain.
    Donna

  27. mothernaturesgarden says:

    While it has been raining, I have been doing a little reorganizing myself.

  28. Jean says:

    Whew, those Naked Ladies are drop-dead gorgeous. I wish we had some of your summer rains. Since you used to live in Monroe you know that non-stop triple digits and drought is not supposed to be the norm here. But it has been this year. Love your desert rose as well!

  29. MIssyM says:

    That hibiscus is wonderful. But for me, the star is that daylily. Such a sweet color.

  30. Naked ladies are one of my particular favorites and your photo is great. I also love that iridescent overlay of blue at the tips of the petals. I have been cataloging and adding key words to my photo collection (what a job!) and discovered I have literally dozens of pictures of naked ladies. They fascinate me, as does the celosia when it is blooming.

    Thanks for coming by my place and commenting. I do love rocks and I think it shows.

  31. mothernaturesgarden says:

    Thanks, Nancy.

  32. mothernaturesgarden says:

    I enjoyed my visit and will be back.
    Donna

  33. mothernaturesgarden says:

    It must be all the rain.
    Donna

  34. nancybond says:

    How beautiful — everything!

  35. Joanne says:

    Hi Nice of you to visit my blog. I love your photos. Phlox is one of my favourites and is looking to be the best ever so far this year.

  36. gail says:

    Donna, the blooms you’ve shown us are gorgeous….I noticed the Surprise Lily has sent up a bloom stalk so soon they will be blooming here! They are a fun surprise. gail

  37. mothernaturesgarden says:

    I hope your hostas recover now that they have a chance.
    Donna

  38. mothernaturesgarden says:

    I’m hoping for a good long shot of the NL.
    Donna

  39. mothernaturesgarden says:

    Good luck with the phlox. You never know what will do well in the garden. There are so many variables.
    Donna

  40. mothernaturesgarden says:

    Janet,
    I found my DR at Walmart. They usually have them in the fall with the other succulents.
    Donna

  41. beegirl211 says:

    Such lovely photos! Nice to meet you and thanks for stopping by the “Burbs”…

  42. tina says:

    Love your phlox! I haven’t had much luck with this kind. I am still hopeful though. Let us know when the naked ladies bloom. I always like miss them each year. They pop up so fast. More rain due today-yahoo!

  43. linda says:

    Beautiful blooms Donna! I love the desert rose. Phlox is one of my favorites. They are really taking their time getting established here, but one day I hope they are as glorious as yours are.

  44. Janet says:

    Magnificent photos!! Super macro shots. Will have to look for a Desert Rose.

Leave a Reply

