Hibiscus

IMG_6754
It must be tasty. Everything wants a bite of Hibiscus ‘Blue River II’. Where is a praying mantis when you need one?

IMG_6770

This late blooming Hemerocallis is an unusual coral color.

IMG_6758

Succulents are great because they can survive outside in summer far from a water source seldom needing more than rainwater.

IMG_6776

There is always a bit of honeysuckle to perfume the air and keep the hummingbirds happy.

IMG_6780

Oh, no! My beautiful blue hosta turned as green as can be.


About mothernaturesgarden

Gardening in Tennessee Zone 6 at an average of 744.65' above sea level.
This entry was posted in Summer and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Hibiscus

  1. mothernaturesgarden says:

    How often I have changed my mind in regard to a plant, Kim.

  2. Gorgeous photos… and beautiful garden, Donna! I’m drooling over those lamb’s ears in particular, which is kind of funny–I’m usually pretty immune to them. 🙂

  3. Lovely pictures and my honeysuckle is smelling good too!

  4. mothernaturesgarden says:

    Hi, Sheila,
    Thanks.
    Donna

  5. mothernaturesgarden says:

    Thanks, Janet.

  6. mothernaturesgarden says:

    Frances,
    The hibiscus flowers are deceptively large. I like them because they have no spot in the middle.
    Donna

  7. mothernaturesgarden says:

    Congratulations, Abe.
    They look healthy if you edit out the bug holes.
    Donna

  8. mothernaturesgarden says:

    Gail,
    I love the swamp hibiscus as well. It reminds me of my dad who had one.
    Donna

  9. mothernaturesgarden says:

    Titania,
    After reading about it, I found weather too hot, rain, too much shade can all affect the wax overlay on the hosta leaves which give it the blue color. I reduced the shade by removing a branch or two above it and hope it forms more wax.
    Donna

  10. mothernaturesgarden says:

    Thanks, Betsy.
    I’ll be right over to check out your trip.
    Donna

  11. Hi There, We’re home after a wonderful weekend in the gorgeous North Carolina mountains. I’ll post in the morning.

    Beautiful Hibiscus, Donna… Even if the hosta turned green, I still like it!!!!

    Hope you had a great weekend.
    Hugs,
    Betsy

  12. Titania says:

    A lovely pure white Hibiscus, beautiful also the red Daylily. Love your collection of Succulents in this pretty container. The green Hosta leave, crinkly and pleated , still looks beautiful.

  13. Gail says:

    The hibiscus is a beauty Donna, I saw a swamp hibiscus that was very charming…an interesting red, the deeply cut maple leaves were the star as well. gail

  14. Everything you have shown looks like it is healthy and they are all pretty. Nice photos.

    54th Wedding Anniversary Today

  15. fairegarden says:

    Hi Donna, these images are amazing!!! I love that white hibiscus too, not too large is it? I am not sure how I feel about the dinner plate one, but love the white you are showing. Succulents are perfect for our containers too, I am a bit neglectful of them and the sedums and such don’t mind a bit. 😉
    Frances

  16. Janet says:

    Donna, what a pretty honeysuckle!! Nice collection of succulents in the planter.

  17. Sheila says:

    That hibiscus is lovely!

Leave a Reply

