Mystery

L1010460

We have three rabbits for certain with more to come I’m sure. I may have to get a dog.

L1010472

There seems to be plenty for them to munch on so I don’t notice damage. Something comes at night, however,

and strews the bark from my orchids now residing outside. It doesn’t injure the plants but digs around in my

pot plants. Weird!


About mothernaturesgarden

Gardening in Tennessee Zone 6 at an average of 744.65' above sea level.
This entry was posted in Summer. Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Mystery

  1. mothernaturesgarden says:

    I partially solved the problem by moving the pots around. if they want to make a mess, they will have to look for it.

  2. spookydragonfly says:

    Hi Donna…My vote is for the raccoons and possums! They dig through mulch and overturn rocks and containers searching for slugs…they do that all the time here in my woods.

  3. Father Time says:

    Wow, you changed to a nice background today. Looks good AND greeen.

  4. mothernaturesgarden says:

    They do have long legs but they are probably Eastern Cottontails. I like the look of the hares with their extra long ears.
    Donna

  5. Titania says:

    Beautiful photos of the rabbits. The colouring looks a little like a hare. I have hares in the orchard and see them hop away when I make my tour. Peter brought me a baby one and then released it again to its siblings, there were three. The hares have longer ears and longer hind legs than the rabbits. The Guinea fowls are fun to have. Mrs. Benteli laid many eggs when she was young, but only over spring into summer. Most animals in Australia are roaming at night so we get many visitors. Bandicoots make every where tiny holes to get grubs and worms. nice diet!
    Anteaters, possums and Koalas roam the garden. We keep Billy inside so he can not hunt them. We share the garden.

  6. mothernaturesgarden says:

    No Armadillos. I don’t mind the bunnies as long as there are not many.
    Donna

  7. teresa says:

    You may cringe, but I don’t mind the bunnies in my garden. They nibble a little, but not enough to cause any real damage. The one thing that does the most damage in my garden is armadillos. Hope you don’t have those.

  8. mothernaturesgarden says:

    Voles. Maybe I need a cat.
    D

  9. Tina says:

    Hmmm, that was interesting. Looks like some things will always remain mystery.
    By the way, good writing style.

  10. Janet says:

    Donna, I have three dogs, totally useless in the rabbit control.

    Janet,
    Would those fall into the pampered pet category? I need a dog that likes rabbits. Yum.
    D

  11. tina says:

    Probably a skunk or possum. Night animals for sure. Maybe voles.

  12. mothernaturesgarden says:

    I have not noticed skunk odor.

  13. mothernaturesgarden says:

    We have chipmunks too. I think it is the chipmunck..little mess..pots not overturned.
    Donna

  14. fairegarden says:

    We are having some serious digging by skunks at night. I had to put a net over the pond to deter their fishing expeditions too. Give it the sniff test?
    Frances

  15. gail says:

    I blame squirrels and chipmunks for digging in the pots!

  16. mothernaturesgarden says:

    I thought it was happening at night but it could be early morning and may be squirrels. Those squirrels will eat anything.
    Donna

  17. Victoria says:

    I find squirrels dig in my pots. Could that be it? It’s incredibly annoying – I have to put a mulch of stones on top to keep them off.

  18. mothernaturesgarden says:

    Thanks, FT.
    I value your comments more than any other. 🙂
    MN

  19. Father Time says:

    Don’t think the dog will make them any difference, they get out of Pickles’ way when she comes out next door. Now, another Great Dane might do the trick and keep the pesky racoons at bay. Love the bunny pics, excellent photos.

Leave a Reply

