July Fourth

Like a fireworks display, the garden is an explosion of color.

IMG_6649

Daylilies are about finished but here are some that bloomed lately.

IMG_0092

Hemerocallis ‘Shimmering Orange Fizz’

L1010455

Hemerocallis ‘Imperial Elegance’

IMG_6691_2

Hemerocallis ‘Bela Lugosi’ is deep, dark, blackish purple.

IMG_6653

Desert Rose/Adenium obesum,in the succulent collection, hasn’t bloomed in years. Something triggered it;

and, there you have it, a bud.

IMG_6693

I finally planted a Callicarpa dichotoma/purple beautyberry. I thought after the trees were fully leafed

out that it was planted in too much shade, but to my surprise it is budding and I am delighted. The berries

are a distinctive, bright magenta.

About mothernaturesgarden

Gardening in Tennessee Zone 6 at an average of 744.65' above sea level.
This entry was posted in Summer and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to July Fourth

  1. mothernaturesgarden says:

    They are like roses, Betsy, so many varieties.
    Donna

  2. I love your dadlilies, Donna. We have some of the same ones –but with different names, and probably a little different.

    Hope you all had a great 4th.
    Hugs,
    Betsy

  3. mothernaturesgarden says:

    Jan,
    Sometimes, rainwater following a dry spell is what stimulates the succulents.
    Donna

  4. I love the color of Bela’s lily–and (his)! name is pretty cool too! I’m supposed most of the other lilies are ‘her’! I hope your beauty berry buds will give you great color, and you’ve got to post photos when your Desert Rose bud finally opens! What a nice surprise. I wonder what triggered it to develop a bud after all those years? Happy 4th to you, too, Donna:)

  5. mothernaturesgarden says:

    Abe,
    I have collected daylilies for years and have many of the old varieties which I treasure. Each and everyone has its own charm.
    Donna

  6. mothernaturesgarden says:

    Titania,
    The desert rose is budded but slow to open. We had a rain today. The rainwater may be what it needs but I think heat is really what it wants. I’m expecting great things when the sun returns.
    Donna

  7. Your day lilies are beautiful and quite unique compared to mine which are mostly old fashioned in size, shape and color. I like the photos you took of them.

  8. Titania says:

    Hi Donna, Daylilies are always a pleasure to see. I am enchanted with their frilly frippery! They have changed so much; I still have got some of the older ones which look rather plain but have got strong, single colours. Love the desert Rose. I had a big one but this plant does not like wet feet and it succumbed to rot! My gardening neighbour presented me a new one. It is still small but doing fine. I keep it out of the wet. I think they do not like cold and wet.
    Like Desert hot and dry, even if the nights can get cold as well. Anyway yours looks beautiful.

  9. mothernaturesgarden says:

    I have a Jap persimmon that has no leaves yet. It is only beginning. It needs heat, what we have not had a lot of. I think I’ll move it to the concrete pool deck. That should heat it up. I hope it has time to do something before fall.
    Donna

  10. mothernaturesgarden says:

    Seldom meet a daylily I don’t like. Since we received a nice rain, there will probably be rebloom. Nothing like rainwater for stimulation.
    Donna

  11. Beautiful daylilies!! (And YOU thought mine were great???) 😉 It’s a wonderful time when the daylilies begin blooming! Don’t you love the re-bloomers??

  12. fairegarden says:

    Hoobaby, that Imperial Elegance is a knockout! Well, they all are actually. Good deal on the beautyberry too, that will give a fine show soon. How can it be that fall has gotten so close all of a sudden? They daylilies here are on their final throes, so sad. They will be missed until next year. 🙂
    Frances

  13. mothernaturesgarden says:

    Thank you, Victoria.
    Donna

  14. mothernaturesgarden says:

    Ha Ha! Rain from the hose, maybe, Racquel.
    Donna

  15. Victoria says:

    Happy Fourth of July, Donna – hope you had a day to match your wonderful garden.

  16. Racquel says:

    Ooh I love the color of Orange Fizz, such a great color! Is that rain I see on those blooms? Everyone is getting rain except us… 😦

  17. mothernaturesgarden says:

    One day the deep colored catch my fancy; next day, the pastels.
    Donna

  18. Happy Holiday to you Donna –
    I adore the dark day lilies you have – very sumptuous
    K

  19. mothernaturesgarden says:

    Happy 4th, Tina.
    Donna

  20. tina says:

    Have a great holiday Donna!

  21. mothernaturesgarden says:

    Janet,
    At Smith and Hawken, I once saw a display of several DRs in a bonsai tray. It was quite stunning. They kind of appear as a ready made bonsai naturally. I’m going to do the same with mine when I find the right container.
    Donna

  22. Janet says:

    Bela is really cool!!! Will have to remember that one! Love the Desert Rose, gave one to a friend and need to find one for myself ….after we move I suppose.

Leave a Reply

