Just a Kid Again

photo-28

Where once white azaleas bloomed, now pink Asiatic lilies flower.

photo-1

Not only plant combinations, but bloom succession is always the gardener’s challenge.

photo-30

The purple coneflowers have attracted lots of visitors. The butterfly is so focused on getting nectar, he allows me to be near.

photo-24

Dip your finger in a little sugar water and you can entice a butterfly to leave the flower.

photo-27

A bunny  has his home in my garden. Usually he is eating some tender grass that sprouted recently. He’s quite brave now and I can get close enough to get a photo.

About mothernaturesgarden

Gardening in Tennessee Zone 6 at an average of 744.65' above sea level.
This entry was posted in spring and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Just a Kid Again

  1. mothernaturesgarden says:

    Cameron,
    Thanks for the rabbit repellent tip. So far they are just cute. If they become a nuisance I’ll be ready. Funny how the birds are inadvertent gardeners.
    Donna

  2. mothernaturesgarden says:

    DJ,
    Thanks for dropping by my blog. Life gets complicated sometimes. Blogging will always be there when you are ready for it. We have had unusually cool weather off and on this spring but now it is warmer. I have been getting the pool ready for a little summertime fun.
    Donna

  3. Hi, Donna!

    You have such pretty flowers in bloom now and the rabbit is adorable. I hope it doesn’t eat anything important. My husband has seen a rabbit around my gardens and some of my dahlias have been eaten, but I think that was probably due to the woodchuck. LOL.

    Sorry I didn’t get back to you sooner. My current state has rendered my brain practically useless… I forgot I’d even received a comment from you on my blog. Ugh! That was funny, though, about your Sum and Substance and the tulip tree litter. I had a rhododendron blossom drop right into the middle of a small variegated hosta one time. Quite a pretty combo. Haha!

    I dropped out of Blotanical. It was too much for me to keep up with when I was really out of sorts. I don’t think I’ll go back. I just want to keep things simple these days, so I only hang out at GB and don’t really post much there anyway.

    It looks like summertime has come to your home already. I hope you are enjoying it and not roasting alive. 🙂

    – DJ

  4. Gorgeous lilies! I really like them with the hosta. I have my only clump of lilies (StarFighter) planted behind my Encore Azaleas. A volunteer yellow lily is growing in my butterfly garden. No doubt, the lily was planted by a bird as that same spot sprouted three other plants (salvia, echinacea, gaillardia) closely grouped! That was a bird who ate a variety of seeds! 🙂

    So — should we douse an old t-shirt in sugar water and walk into the garden? 🙂 That is a great tip! I’m surprised that your little bunny friends didn’t eat your echinacea and lilies. If they do get to be a problem, I’m having great luck with I MUST GARDEN rabbit repellent. No, I don’t work for them or get a kick-back; it’s just a product that works well.

    Cameron

  5. mothernaturesgarden says:

    I’ll have to try the salt trick.

  6. fairegarden says:

    Hi Donna, wow, thanks for the sugar water tip! Clicking with the left hand is difficult, you did a great job! It seems you are truly Mother Nature in your garden. 🙂 Love the lilies, ours are having a good year too, so much rain really helped.
    Frances

  7. mothernaturesgarden says:

    I wish I had more successes to report, NS.

  8. mothernaturesgarden says:

    I learned the sugar water trick at a butterfly house we visited, Tina.
    Donna

  9. tina says:

    Wow, it is so gorgeous. My coneflowers are only now beginning to bloom. I am surprised how far ahead of us you are. I’ll try that butterfly trick one day. Too cool!

  10. That is a pretty clump of lilies. There is always a sense of anticipation, watching one type of flower succeed the next in the garden.
    Your lovely butterfly friend has quite the sweet tooth.

Leave a Reply

