Biltmore, Orton, and Brookgreen Gardens

photo-6Roses and hostas are featured at a North Carolina rest stop garden.

IMG_0006

I have visited Biltmore several times but it is always a treat whenever one visits. It was time for roses, mountain laurel, and rhododendrons while we were there.

IMG_0024

The photos do not convey how magnificent the rose garden was that day. We were enveloped in the scent of roses and the bloom was splendid. We were too busy sniffing and looking.

photo-8Islander Inn is situated on a narrow strip of land

photo-9

on a big wide beach

photo-10

on the North Carolina coast at Ocean Isle.

IMG_0032

Dennis, a fishing tourist,  pulled a sand shark and a speckled sea trout from the net while we were taking a walk on the beach.

IMG_0139

Orton Plantation Garden south of  Wilmington, NC 

IMG_0066 

in addition to its lovely gardens has a beautiful chapel.

 

Just south of Myrtle Beach in South Carolina is the fabulous Brookgreen Gardens, an expansive sculpture garden in a setting of live oaks so old their resurrection fern encrusted limbs rest on the ground.

photo-5

More water features than you can imagine highlight statues of every size and description. This above ground reservoir supplies the garden’s water as well as houses some giant koi.

photo-4
Some bronzes are cloistered in an outdoor gallery.

photo-2

Brick Lattice Walls

I don’t know what it is but the hummingbirds and I like it.

Update: Thanks to Janet of The Queen of Seaford the plant is coral bean/Erythrina herbacea.

photo-6 Decorative Iron Gates

IMG_0156

The air was fragrant with Confederate jasmine.

Come along and zip through the gardens with me.

 

We can celebrate in joyous ways because of the service of others 

IN HONOR OF MEMORIAL DAY.

 

Photos courtesy of FlashBlack

About mothernaturesgarden

Gardening in Tennessee Zone 6 at an average of 744.65' above sea level.
This entry was posted in spring. Bookmark the permalink.

37 Responses to Biltmore, Orton, and Brookgreen Gardens

  1. Proud Mary Entertainment says:

    Hello,
    New here. Thanks

    Mary Aloe
    Proud Mary Entertainment

  2. mothernaturesgarden says:

    It would be so fun to live near such a garden to stroll through every season, Jan.
    Donna

  3. Hi MN, What a trip! Glad you had so much to see and do. Brookgreen Gardens is right next to where my parents lived, in Litchfield…but they’ve since moved to NC. We toured Brookgreen several times. It’s just a nice place to go and stroll at your own pace, or take a more informative tour. We learned all about the alligators that frequent the area by a boat tour. We used to love the beach there at Litchfield by the Sea. It was a nice area to have family vacations;-)

  4. mothernaturesgarden says:

    Squirrels are the biggest predator of the nests around here and they can go almost anywhere.
    Donna

  5. skeeter says:

    We have had an Eastern Phoebe in our garage (no door, just 3-sides) for the past 6 years! She is late this year as she is just now sitting on eggs. The neighbors cat has spotted them and has been hanging out on the car trunk. Maybe we should not park the car in the garge when the eggs hatch…

  6. mothernaturesgarden says:

    Isn’t that the truth. Of course, good food and someone to share the whole thing with.
    Donna

  7. Rusty says:

    My favorite kind of vacation, beach and gardens

  8. mothernaturesgarden says:

    It was my pleasure, Susie. I love going to zoos. They are usually landscaped with lovely plants as well.
    Donna

  9. mothernaturesgarden says:

    Skeeter,
    It seems we want to work in our gardens and visit others in the spring and there is so little time. One year I will go north for a summer vacation and gardens will be still beautiful. A vacation isn’t a vacation unless it includes gardens and it is nice if the weather cooperates. I have been known to tour with an umbrella.
    Our birdies have started their second families as well. A new bird for me this season was the Phoebe. I noticed because they built their nest on the top of the porch post ledge.

  10. mothernaturesgarden says:

    When did you last go, Abe?
    Donna

  11. mothernaturesgarden says:

    I understand it is quite festive at Christmas, Racquel.

  12. mothernaturesgarden says:

    Kathleen,
    I’m going to be in the Denver area in the fall. What gardens should I visit? I was looking online at the Denver BG and the Boettcher Memorial Tropical Conservatory looks like a must see.
    Donna

  13. Susie says:

    Thanks for visiting my blog and leaving your kind comments. I loved looking at your pics. Your photography is lovely. Thanks for sharing NC with us.

  14. skeeter says:

    Catching up a bit today! We have been trying to get to Biltmore for the past 3 springs but with no luck. One day we will get there! I love all the pictures and your vacation looks like it was wonderful. Nothing like vacationing with gardens nearby and sandy white beaches too! What beauty you have captured for us to enjoy!

    Your yard sure looked wonderful for spring also. The azaleas and clematis are my favorites but the hosta has stolen a spot in my memory bank as well. Your bargain finds at Lowes are wonderful. I have been hitting the bargain bins all spring long and have added many new things to my garden. Thank you Lowes and the bargain bin! You have many beautiful birds in your garden and babies to boot! Our bluebirds are working on nest number two as the babies from house one have fledged. I spotted a cow bird looking into all the birdhouses yesterday. Hope she does not mess with my bluebirds as that would not be nice to sneak an egg in for them to hatch. I have not seen the grosbeak or the bunting this spring. Maybe we missed them with some of our travels and being away from the windows and yard. Back now so will be on the lookout for them…

  15. Are they trumpet flowers? And the pictures at Biltmore House were nice to see again.

  16. Racquel says:

    What a lovely bit of traveling you’ve done to these public gardens and the beach. I will have to make the time to get up to Biltmore one of these days. 🙂

  17. Kathleen says:

    It looks like an amazing vacation Donna. Visiting the Biltmore is on my life list. I don’t know why I never made it when I lived in Maryland and Virginia??? I did spend some time along the Outer Banks and it was fabulous. I could vacation with you ~ all the places you visited, I would enjoy too! Oh, the colors on that Iris were pretty fantastic.

  18. mothernaturesgarden says:

    Anna,
    I brought home some shells we gleaned from the beach including a couple of conch shells that I’m going to put in a glass container.
    Donna

  19. You have been down to my stomping grounds and you’ve done them proud with this post. When we go to Myrtle the turtle beach;), we stay at Litchfield Beach. It’s quiet and family friendly. I like to go up to Biltmore too. It’s about two hours away. I loved this post and the Ocean Isle resort is very cool. Looks like you had nice weather. I do love our sandy white beaches and shell finding adventures. It’s great after a storm. I collect sea glass and get most of it from the Outer Banks.

  20. mothernaturesgarden says:

    I had no idea a little shark like that would be so close to shore. He may have been attracted closer by other things in the net. I now know not to go in the water next to where someone has cast out a buoyed net.
    Donna

  21. fairegarden says:

    Hi Donna, Oh I never tire of seeing the Biltmore or Carolina beaches! Two of the best places on earth. The sharks are a little disconcerting though. The other gardens looked delightful as well.
    Frances

  22. mothernaturesgarden says:

    Thanks, Darla.
    Donna

  23. Darla says:

    What a great tour!!

  24. mothernaturesgarden says:

    Oooo, Kathryn,
    Grove Park Inn! I want to stay there. Add a spa on the beautiful gardens and it’s paradise.
    Donna

  25. Kathryn Hall says:

    Hi, Donna, This is a beautiful tribute to your journey. I have visited Biltmore, but only to see the mansion, not the grounds, if you can believe that. My focus at the time was on other things. Have you visited Grove Park Inn as well? I spent a LOT of time there, living only a block away. Their gardens are also very beautiful. Thank you for sharing your beautiful adventure.

  26. mothernaturesgarden says:

    Leigh,
    The sides of the above ground reservoir was a most beautiful lattice brickwork with ferns decorating it in several places.
    Donna

  27. Thanks for taking me on this trip via your photos! I used to live a few blocks from the Biltmore in NC (in a neighborhood of *much* smaller houses – ) so it was wonderful to find your trip photos. What a great water “resevoir” – I’d love one that looked like THAT! Thanks again!

  28. mothernaturesgarden says:

    Betsy,
    We had a grand time and can’t thank you enough for your recommendations. I would go back. Weather was iffy but didn’t slow us down.
    Donna

  29. Betsy says:

    Okay Girlie, How did you like it????? Looks like you liked the gardens. We haven’t been to Brookgreen… Looks like a neat place. Write me an email and tell me what you liked, didn’t like, etc. What about restaurants? Did you like Islander? Anxious to hear all about your trip.

    Hugs,
    Betsy
    P.S. We have Confederate Jasmine in our front yard. I love it!!!!

  30. mothernaturesgarden says:

    Janet,
    Thanks for identifying the plant. Coral Bean/Erythrina herbacea, a native of coastal areas, it is.
    Donna

  31. Janet says:

    Love the caladiums by the chapel, heavenly 😉 Is that a coral bean plant by the brick wall? Thanks for the links, will check them out. Must be garden touring season! 😀

  32. mothernaturesgarden says:

    We relied on GPS in our car, Cameron. but what a great idea. Thanks for sharing the info. NC is a beautiful state and one to revisit.
    Donna

  33. Glad you made it to my state of North Carolina!

    Did you download the free garden travel itineraries from http://www.visitnc.com before going? I wrote those and included restaurants along with gardens in Asheville (Mountains of Flowers), Wilmington (Cool Coastal Gardens) and the the Raleigh-Durham-Chapel Hill area (Love our Triangle of Gardens)! 🙂

    Your photos are great and I also love the sandals on the fence!

    Cameron

  34. mothernaturesgarden says:

    Gail,
    I was filled to overflowing with sand, sea, seafood, and gardens to the point of being eager to return to home sweet home. That is a great vacation.
    Donna

  35. gail says:

    I love the photo of the sandals on the dune fencing~~doesn’t it just shout we are having a great time! It sounds like you had a wonderful vacation Donna!
    gail

  36. mothernaturesgarden says:

    Glad to help, Burdr. 🙂
    Donna

  37. Burdr says:

    Wonderful post! Later this year I will be in that area. Now I have a place I can add to the list of stuff I want to see!

Leave a Reply

