Clematis

IMG_6301

Rhododendron

Overgrown against the house, this rhodie is destined to be moved. I wasn’t so successful in moving a similar one. It’s alive but just a remnant of itself. Not exactly what I intended. I realize now, I should have staked something so top heavy. Every time the wind blew it was ripping its new roots from the ground and it really couldn’t sustain itself and get established. Duh!

IMG_6304

Clematis ‘Etoile Violette’

looks pretty good although it was not pruned back in the fall.

IMG_6299
Clematis ‘Hagley Hybrid’

I understand Hagley Hybrid/Pink Chiffon can take more sun. Perhaps it is why mine blooms but not profusely.

IMG_6307

White Calibrachoa

I never liked petunias much because the flowers mostly collapsed when it rained or they were watered. I really like the Calibrachoas, however, and plant them every year. There are many colors but this year, I am doing white.

About mothernaturesgarden

Gardening in Tennessee Zone 6 at an average of 744.65' above sea level.
This entry was posted in spring. Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Clematis

  1. mothernaturesgarden says:

    We have had a steady supply of rain. My garden is on a hill so it is well drained. Next will be the daylilies which are budded really nicely. I’ll need all the luck I can get for moving the rhodie, Racquel.
    Donna

  2. Racquel says:

    Your Clemmies look fabulous this year Donna. Mine were doing great until this sudden heat wave. Good luck moving that Rhodie, it’s a big one.

  3. These are all very nice photographs of lovely flowers.

  4. Anonymous says:

    it’s a royal purple for sure

  5. Lzyjo says:

    Gorgeous! I love the perfectly purple clematis!

  6. Anonymous says:

    I wish you sucess, liisa. We will have to compare notes next spring.

  7. Anonymous says:

    I may try that, Frances.

  8. Liisa says:

    Donna,
    Your rhododendron and clematis are absolutely gorgeous. Love that deep, dark purple of ‘Etoile Violette’. I am planning on picking up ‘Polish Spirit’ today – similar in color. I am planning on moving a couple rhododendron this spring, after they bloom. I hope I am successful. Beautiful photos, thank you for sharing!

  9. fairegarden says:

    Hi Donna, what a beautiful specimen the rhodie is, too bad it has to be moved. Can’t it just be pruned down to size? They can take a good deal of pruning. In fact I would prune it before moving it, top and root prune as well, unless you have heavy equipment, like a bobcat to dig it up, or several big men and lots of burlap. They have little feeder roots that dislike disruption. Good luck! The clemmies are wonderful. I never prune any of mine, maybe I should! 🙂
    Frances

  10. Anonymous says:

    thanks, Gail

  11. gail says:

    Beautiful rhodie Donna..you must have the acidic soil it requires. The clematis are perfect. I’ve planted several that I found at a going out of business sale…they are blooming but not like yours! Maybe in a few years! gail

  12. mothernaturesgarden says:

    Thanks for info, Betsy. I was just looking at Orton Plantation Gardens online.
    Donna

  13. Betsy says:

    Hi Donna, I sent Roger a bunch of info about that area. I’m sure you all will LOVE it.

    Our Clematis has some buds on it now–but it still hasn’t grown up the poles yet… If I had to guess, I think it blooms from June–through the early fall.

    Have a wonderful trip.. IF you have anymore questions, email me.
    Love,
    Betsy

  14. mothernaturesgarden says:

    You influenced us with your account of the beach. We are going to NC tomorrow. When does your pruned clematis bloom, Betsy?
    Donna

  15. Betsy says:

    Hi Donna, I’ve enjoyed catching up with your gorgeous blog. Your posts and pictures are great. I love your home–and all of the color. We have alot of the same things you do (Rhododendron, pink Azaleas, lots of Hostas, and Clematis)… Our Clematis was cut back—so it hasn’t bloomed yet.

    I will post our pink Azalea and our big Rhody tomorrow along with some other flowers we have blooming.

    Hope you have a great week!!!!
    Hugs,
    Betsy

  16. mothernaturesgarden says:

    HH was already here. It’s been around a long time. I have seen it before at nurseries. It may be called Pink Chiffon. One and the same.

  17. Kathleen says:

    omg, I haven’t seen ‘Hagley hybrid’ before either Donna. It’s beautiful and my fave color!! Did you find it at your local nursery or did you have to mail order it?? My clematis are still quite a ways from bloom time but I’m anxious to see them again. Good luck moving the Rhodie…

  18. mothernaturesgarden says:

    Tatyana,
    I think pruning them by at least a third is key. I reduced some azaleas by a third and they recovered and bloomed nicely this year. That was only pruning not moving, however.
    Donna

  19. mothernaturesgarden says:

    Thanks, DP,
    I really like all the different ones. Each is special in its own way. Every day I like a different one best. 🙂

  20. DP says:

    The clematis are so beautiful. I really love the violet ones. They really do look great! (Even though they weren’t pruned!)

  21. mothernaturesgarden says:

    David,
    No matter what time of year, I cannot stay away from garden centers. 🙂
    Donna

  22. This post makes me want to go to the garden center to buy flowers right now!

    The Clematis is just beautiful!

  23. Tatyana says:

    Good morning and thank you for showing these gorgeous blooms! I’ve never seen Hagley hybrid and I love it!
    Also, never knew about difference between petunia and calibrachoa, thanks for educating me! As for your rhododendron, I heard many stories (including those from our NW garden gurus) about severe pruning. They say you can prune a rhododendron so bad that it looks as it is dead, but it will come back more beautiful than before. Good luck!

  24. mothernaturesgarden says:

    Thanks, Tina, for your input. I am an optomist and will try again. It seems a shame to just rip things out and cast off when so many are just wishing their small starts would mature.
    Donna

  25. tina says:

    I hope you are successful moving this rhodie. I rescued 6 a few years ago that a homeowner on my road pulled out with his jeep and some chains. He then threw them in a brushpile across the street. This in April right before they bloomed. The same color as yours. They sat there for 2 weeks before I got them. 5 out of the 6 died no matter what I did, but it was probably not to be to begin with since they were out of the ground for so long. I tried every trick. The one that survived is blooming, nothing like it used to be for sure. It is the one growing in sand near the septic system. I think sand and/or good drainage is key to saving it. I cut all buds and blooms off mine too so it could get a good start. There may be started solutions you could add to the soil as well. good luck.

Leave a Reply

