Indigo Buntings

pass_cyan_allam_map

 

Look what a huge breeding range there is for the Indigo Bunting. Are you seeing them?

img_00041

If not, you may be overlooking them because if they are not in the correct light they may appear as a very dark or black small bird. The blue color is caused by the structure of their feathers refracting light not the pigment. 

 

img_00011

Indigo Buntings like to be in short grassy areas where there are tiny seeds being produced.  If your lawn gets a little seedy looking after a rain, that is the perfect place. Be sure and check for them right before it is time to mow the lawn. He may be attracted to your niger seed where the goldfinches feed for he is a finch as well. 

img_00031

They are here and I’ll bet you see one soon.

img_6193

Clematis

img_0034

Snowball Viburnum

img_0040

Azaleas

img_0022

Iris have begun to bloom.

img_0044

White Azaleas

img_0184

Spring is everywhere.

img_6188

Tall Bearded Iris

img_00451

Japanese Maples are so pretty when the sun lights them.

img_6197

The dogwood blossoms have begun to fall from the trees and cover the ground as they flush with leaves that will provide a shady green summer.

About mothernaturesgarden

Gardening in Tennessee Zone 6 at an average of 744.65' above sea level.
This entry was posted in birds, spring and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Indigo Buntings

  1. mothernaturesgarden says:

    Jan,
    I have seen them at my goldfinch feeder.
    Donna

  2. Donna, I have seen an indigo bunting (that I ‘know’ of) only once. Last year I was sure one was at my feeder…the bluebirds eat my seeds from the feeder so an indigo bunting could too, don’t you think? I never saw him again though. I’ll keep my eyes open and ask my husband to be careful when he’s mowing the grass!! Also, your photos of spring blooms are beautiful;-)

  3. mothernaturesgarden says:

    Jan,
    I hope some find the area attractive and stay.
    Donna

  4. Jan says:

    The indigo buntings came through Louisiana last week, and we certainly enjoyed seeing them. Everything that is blooming in your garden is very lovely.

    Jan
    Always Growing

  5. mothernaturesgarden says:

    I’m partial to white. I have a lot of white flowers.
    Donna

  6. Betsy says:

    Hi Donna, What wonderful pictures you have on this post. Love the Azaleas–especially the white (which we don’t have). AND that white Iris is fabulous!!!!! A neighbor has a huge snowball tree—and I love it. Thanks For sharing!!!!

    I haven’t seen an Indigo Bunting here… Wish I would!!!!! He’s gorgeous.
    Hugs,
    Betsy

  7. mothernaturesgarden says:

    I would like to see that, Abe.
    Donna

  8. I would flip up and over and out if I saw an indigo bunting in my backyard. Wow. Such a beautiful bird and your flowers are stunners as well.

  9. mothernaturesgarden says:

    That is what is fun about birding…you never know what you will see next.
    Donna

  10. mothernaturesgarden says:

    Cameron,
    All lot of bluebirds must be wonderful. We have one little open sunny space that can accommodate a pair nicely.
    Donna

  11. mothernaturesgarden says:

    Tina,
    I think it is interesting that each year a different iris blooms first.

  12. mothernaturesgarden says:

    Flashblack is so generous.

  13. The bunting is so stunning! I must see if I can find them here in NC this summer. We have so many bluebirds that I guess I could easily miss a bunting among the hundreds of bluebirds that live here (there are bluebird houses throughout our neighborhood fences where each of us has an open meadow).

    Your garden is really blooming! What wonderful choices and colors in your garden.

    Cameron

  14. Lzyjo says:

    Beautiful irises! The indigo bunting is gorgeous. I have not been privileged enough to see one.

  15. Father Time says:

    Love the photos of the birds. Great shots, MN. {:>)

  16. tina says:

    Love that peachy iris!

  17. mothernaturesgarden says:

    I love spring, Robin, because it is filled with anticipation. It is good to take time to smell the flowers as they say.
    Donna

  18. mothernaturesgarden says:

    Thank you, Dawn. We live next to a wooded area and see many wild things.
    Donna

  19. Dawn says:

    My goodness, the indigo bunting is spectacular! I’d love one to visit my garden. Your blossom photos are lovely. My favorite is the purple Clematis. Wow!
    ~Dawn

  20. Robin says:

    The clematis are gorgeous! I have buds on mine and can’t wait until they bloom!
    I didn’t realize that indigo buntings were ground feeders.

Leave a Reply

