Morels

Every year we find a couple of small morels in our garden. Edible morels bloom only in the spring. There are black, gray, yellow, and white morels.  We find them in the same area every year. It is a mossy area under a tulip poplar on a southern facing slope on the downside of a couple of old apple trees. They like the cloudy, rainy weather and bloom when the nights are warming up to about fifty degrees. I joined a forum to learn more about them and told hubby. The next thing I know a couple of morels are soaking in salt water to remove any creepy crawlies.  They are also split open to remove anything that may have crawled inside. Doesn’t that sound appetizing?


img_6154
The long one is about as long as my finger. They can grow to twelve inches, however. The discoloration on the right one is aging but still good.  They must be cooked. You must not eat them with wine or other alcoholic beverages. 

img_6155
They are completely hollow from top to bottom. The cap is joined to the stem


img_6156
Who knows, maybe one of these days I may actually eat one but I doubt it. I’m not very adventurous. I prefer to get my mushrooms from the grocer. But, hey, if it is ever necessary I should have to survive in the wild, I’ll know which ones to give a try. 

Donna

About mothernaturesgarden

Gardening in Tennessee Zone 6 at an average of 744.65' above sea level.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Morels

  1. Lzyjo says:

    WOW! Great pictures. The texture is fantastic, almost unearthly. I had know idea they were hollow, amazing. I’ve never eaten morels, but they are probably a lot fresher they you could find at a shop. I’m not that adventurous!

  2. mothernaturesgarden says:

    I’m off to visit the hamlet of Gordon, Ohio, Abe.
    Donna

  3. My neighbor, who looks a lot older than me, but who is a long younger, loves to hunt mushrooms. He even drives to Michigan to find them after he has exhausted his ‘spikes’ he finds here. I would poison myself for sure so I don’t even bother to look. I know he said he goes back to the same pots each year to find his so I suspect they come from the same roots or whatever each year.

    Living in such wonderful places, so different from where I have lived, you might enjoy a look at The Hamlet of Gordon, Ohio. It is where I was born and raised and it is how small hamlets used to be and this one still exists.

    The Hamlet of Gordon

  4. mothernaturesgarden says:

    I hear you, Megan.

  5. Megan says:

    I’d feel the same way, I like the idea of being able to get them in the yard, but I’d always be afraid I didn’t ID them right. I usually am not a mushroom fan, but my mother in law has made morels before, and they were delicious. Then again, what isn’t delicious when coated in butter and garlic 🙂

  6. Gail says:

    I love morels. They are delicious! Not sure I could safely id them in the wild so mine come from Whole Foods! gail

  7. mothernaturesgarden says:

    Dave,
    I need to find an expert to go with. Then I would eat them.
    Donna

  8. Dave says:

    I don’t know that I’ve ever seen them in the wild. If I do now I know what they are. Still I’m a bit tentative about eating wild mushrooms!

Leave a Reply

