Treasured Moments

img_0001

The handsome, robust Red-bellied Woodpecker sitting outside my bedroom window

img_0002

sampling the tasty delights the dogwood has to offer

img_0003

speaks spring to me .

img_0006

  His song and drumming is part of nature’s symphony.  

img_0004

  Spring is here and every living thing revels in it.  So, I pass it on to you for a joy shared is more glorious.

Donna

 

photographic artistry by FlashBlack

About mothernaturesgarden

Gardening in Tennessee Zone 6 at an average of 744.65' above sea level.
This entry was posted in spring and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Treasured Moments

  1. mothernaturesgarden says:

    Thanks, Jan.
    It is fun finding we have the same backyard photo ops.
    Donna

  2. You have such wonderful photos of this lovely red bellied fellow! I just love watching them in my yard. I really enjoyed your post about them. The photos are stunning! Have a great day, Donna!! Jan

  3. mothernaturesgarden says:

    I’m always awake.
    Donna

  4. lzyjo says:

    WOW! Great photos! I hope he didn’t wake you up.

  5. mothernaturesgarden says:

    It is fun seeing what is indigenous to certain areas, I agree, Kathleen.
    Donna

  6. Kathleen says:

    What phenomenal photos Donna. I love seeing his “tongue!” We don’t have this woodpecker in Colorado so it’s a treat to see such great photos of him.

  7. mothernaturesgarden says:

    Many of us are in tandem on our sightings, Dave.

  8. mothernaturesgarden says:

    I added you to my Blogroll, Abe. I want to continue to visit your blog.
    Donna

  9. Dave says:

    Great picture! We had one of his relatives visit our suet feeder yesterday, fun to watch!

  10. Thanks for your visit and comments about my Baltimore Oriole on oranges.

    I like your Red-bellied woodpecker photos. He is something else. The dogwood looks old and is showing its age and he finds the delights inside. It reminds me of the same bird that visits here each morning and pecks away on this bird-house-like thing I made out of cedar and hung on the spruce tree. It makes a fabulous sound when he drums on it. And he tries each area looking for, to him, the ideal spot. The little house thing makes an excellent echo chamber. I think he likes it.

  11. mothernaturesgarden says:

    Tina,
    We haven’t had blue skies in some time. Today was exceptional.

    Thanks, Janet.

    Cameron,
    We have noticed those chin-ups also.

    Donna

  12. wonderful photos!

    We love these visitors in our garden! They try to eat from our tube seed feeder and have to do chin-ups from the bar to the tube!

    Cameron

  13. I so very much enjoyed these photos!

  14. Janet says:

    Great shots of the woodpecker!! Nicely done.

  15. tina says:

    Shared joys are very welcomed on this glorious spring day. I can hardly think of a better thing.

  16. mothernaturesgarden says:

    I think he was focused on the food supply, Racquel.

    Donna

  17. Racquel says:

    Great shots Donna! I’ve been trying to get a picture of the one that lives in my Pecan Tree for sometime now. He is an elusive creature. 😉

  18. mothernaturesgarden says:

    David,
    I’m glad you dropped by. Thanks.

    Father Time
    He reminds me of you.

    Nancy,
    Perhaps, that is it or drumming for a mate. We have a woodpecker that drums on the chimney cover. It is really loud.

    Donna

  19. nancybond says:

    What a handsome fellow he is, Donna! Thank you for sharing. There’s been a woodpecker of some sort in a tree not far from our property here — he must have peck-peck-pecked himself half senseless yesterday! 🙂 He was busy for most of the day — I thought perhaps he was pecking himself a hole to nest in!

  20. Father Time says:

    Wow, what a bird shot! He is really brilliant. {:>)

  21. David says:

    Beautiful bird! Great pictures! Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

