The Bluebird Sings in Tennessee

img_0019

He sings of a glorious spring.  It is the most beautiful time of the year at my house when the dogwoods bloom.

img_6050_2

There are thirty six dogwoods in my garden alone,

img_6058

not to mention, my neighbors who have even more.

img_6043

All around is new foliage as colorful as any flower.

img_6012

With the curtains open, it flows even to the interior spaces.

img_6009

In a few more days, azaleas and rhododendrons now peeking from their buds will climax the celebration with a vibrant crescendo.

img_00412

The bluebirds are already feeding young. Their parental duties animate the west side of the house and a flock of American Goldfinches inhabit the back.  In dramatic yellow and black newly molted adornment perched among the white dogwood blossoms beneath my bedroom window, goldfinches wait for a turn at the feeder. Nothing can upstage the flashing, sparkling Ruby-throated Hummingbird, however, dashing back and forth to sip nectar at his special place on the deck.

img_0038

bluebird photos provided by FlashBlack

photo-32_2

Understated among the leaves are the subtle beauty of this budded Trillium stamineum and other wildflowers like Iris cristata almost ready to join the springtime affair. I love flower names. They are music to my ears… Shooting Stars, Spring Beauty, Lily of the Valley, Columbine, May Apple, Wake Robin, Lady’s Slipper, and on and on.

img_6082

As if in suspended animation, Clematis ‘Blue Light’ awaits a sunshine day when the air is warm and buzzing with honey bees to fully open its heart.

img_0031

Sometimes buffeted by strong spring wind or sometimes shimmering  in the gentle breeze, not only do the myriad of white blossoms light the day but they glow long into the evening light.

img_0033

Life is good and April is beautiful in Tennessee. Sing on little bluebird. Sing.

About mothernaturesgarden

Gardening in Tennessee Zone 6 at an average of 744.65' above sea level.
This entry was posted in spring and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to The Bluebird Sings in Tennessee

  1. mothernaturesgarden says:

    I know what you mean. Only the cold weather can slow me down. Hey, I need a little time to blog.
    Donna

  2. lzyjo says:

    I just love seeing the dogwoods. Their layered habit looks so lovely peaking out of the woods. I can’t get enough of spring!

  3. mothernaturesgarden says:

    Megan,

    I have seen a few pink ones sprinkled about the neighborhood. I may add one of those.

    Donna

  4. Megan says:

    36!?! Your spring pictures are what I think spring should look like. I have space for a couple more trees, this makes me think a dogwood is called for.

  5. mothernaturesgarden says:

    Thanks, Kathleen. I never tire of them. Clouds of white are everywhere.
    Donna

  6. Kathleen says:

    That is a lot of dogwoods Donna! What a fabulous display they put on for you in spring. I love the bluebird photos too. It’s fun to watch them flying back & forth feeding their young isn’t it?

  7. mothernaturesgarden says:

    Today, they are at their most excellent full blown stage, Linda.
    Donna

  8. Your dogwoods are pretty incredible but your photos of them are stunning. What a lovely post!

  9. mothernaturesgarden says:

    Racquel,

    I like the tree and shrub scale.

    Donna

  10. Racquel says:

    I just love the flowering trees in Spring. I really need to add some to my own garden.

  11. mothernaturesgarden says:

    Yes, Linda,
    It seems we long for it forever and then it is upon us at once.
    Donna

  12. mothernaturesgarden says:

    Gail,
    I treasure your comment.

    Barbee,
    I see there are some just as beautiful in Kentucky.

    Anna,
    I love to go south in the summer and see them flourishing in the sweltering heat of highway medians.

    Nancy,
    I never had a dogwood successfully in my former gardens. This makes up for it for sure for my dreams came true.

    Donna

  13. linda says:

    Oh how beautiful Donna! The dogwoods are breathtaking! Everything is beautiful in your garden. It looks like spring is in full swing in Tennessee!

  14. nancybond says:

    Donna! 36 dogwoods on your property — how lucky you are! They’re stunning, and so many different colours. What a gorgeous yard you have. You’re so far ahead of us here, but we’re starting to look a little more like spring, day by day. 🙂

  15. My word, this is an incredible post chock full of beauty. You sure have a lot of dogwoods. I hope to have that many Crepe Myrtles.

  16. Barbee' says:

    Tennessee heavenly! It doesn’t get any prettier anywhere else. Oh, and the delightful little wildflowers. They leave so soon. I am glad you caught them before they left.

  17. Gail says:

    Donna, What a lovely place to live! …and a fantastic post! gail

  18. mothernaturesgarden says:

    My hubby looks just like you.

  19. Father Time says:

    Excellent! Looks just like MY yard. {:>)

  20. mothernaturesgarden says:

    I’m in dogwood heaven, Tina.
    Donna

  21. tina says:

    Your dogwoods are gorgeous Donna!

Leave a Reply

