Ag Expo 2009/Master Gardeners

The Ag Expo is produced by the Williamson County Master Gardeners. Of all the many things to choose, I chose a contorted filbert. I also bought a wrought iron shepherd’s hook that attaches to the deck banister.  On the way home I picked up a couple of Kimberly Queen ferns to flank back entrance. With them on a coaster/dolly, they are easily moved out to catch rainwater. We are expecting freezing temps tonight. I thought they would be safe in that they are under a roof and are, according to net, hardy to the low twenties. Now that 20 something is predicted, I’m bringing them in. They may be only root hardy to the low twenties. They can stay on the opposite side of the glass for a few days.  I learned KQs have a rhizome that can be over wintered.  Kimberly Queen fern is another of those plants reputed for removing indoor pollutants.

About mothernaturesgarden

Gardening in Tennessee Zone 6 at an average of 744.65' above sea level.
This entry was posted in spring and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Ag Expo 2009/Master Gardeners

  1. mothernaturesgarden says:

    Betsy,
    I feel like spring is here when the dogwoods bloom.

  2. Betsy says:

    Donna, Looks like you had a marvelous time!!!! I’d spend too much money at a place like that… I love those reblooming yellow daylilies. You’ll enjoy them.. They bloom all summer.

    We got lucky and didn’t have any damage from the freeze this year.. I now hope that spring is here to stay!
    Hugs,
    Betsy

  3. mothernaturesgarden says:

    Frances,
    I am happy to report no frost damage.
    Donna

  4. fairegarden says:

    Hi Donna, what a fabulous show. Those ferns will look beautiful on your deck. Definitely needed to be brought in though. Our Japanese maples have leafed out and the frost was on them this morning. It will be seen if they are damaged or not. Not as bad as 2007 by a long shot.
    Frances

  5. mothernaturesgarden says:

    My pleasure, Linda. Learning about new plants is one of the perks of Expos.
    Donna

  6. RainGardener says:

    Hi Donna, love that Norwegian Weeping Spruce, I don’t believe I’ve ever seen one. Your flowers are looking great even if ya are a bit behind this year. You have more than I do. But I have lots of little sprouts showing so that’ll keep me going.
    Thanks so much for coming by and visiting. Linda

  7. mothernaturesgarden says:

    Anna,
    I do not know if I would have the patience to do a pleached hedge, but I can admire it. Sometimes I have difficulty getting things planted so I try to buy what I can plant. I must confess I still have some things in pots bought late last year.
    Donna

  8. I love the latticed tree. Very amazing. You did good if you only came home with a few things. I’ll be covering my stuff with blankets tomorrow night.

  9. mothernaturesgarden says:

    Cameron,
    You are so right. After winter, wide open spaces are very attractive.

    Gail,
    It was a fun time. I could go everyday….not very practical.
    Donna

  10. Gail says:

    It looks like it was a fun place to spend time…The indoor pollutant removers sound perfect for our homes! gail

  11. What a wonderful expo! A great outing for spring.

    Cameron

  12. mothernaturesgarden says:

    Tina,
    I bought a daylily from a local. Not sure if he is MG. It is so pretty, a rebloomer, ruffled, yellow.
    Donna

  13. tina says:

    I went to this last year or the year before. I can’t even remember. Got a wonderful peony and a few wildflowers. I enjoyed it very much. Did not buy anything from the master gardeners themselves though.

  14. mothernaturesgarden says:

    Dave,
    I always buy then try to figure where to put it. Not a good plan but fun.

    Linda,
    The ferns can take more sun than most.

    Racquel,
    Now it is a battle with freezing weather.

    Donna

  15. Racquel says:

    Spring is really procrastinating isn’t it? Looks like you got some lovely plants Donna. 🙂

  16. linda says:

    Looks like a neat event, and I love your plant choices. Those ferns are gorgeous!

  17. Dave says:

    They had a lot of neat stuff there! I’ve been wanting one of those Contorted Filberts but I’m not sure where to put it.

Leave a Reply

