Honesty In The Garden

photo-5Although there are pink clouds of flowering cherries, redbuds, and startling yellow forsythia, the woods are still basically gray. Your eye goes to the color as this patch of Lunaria that is quite a distance from the house. The color draws you in for a closer look. The honesty will later provide decorative seed pods.

photo-92

I bring the snowflakes inside when they bloom for they are in part of the garden seldom seen.


photo-4

Hostas have been sprouting.

photo-6What do you know… the squirrels missed one.


About mothernaturesgarden

Gardening in Tennessee Zone 6 at an average of 744.65' above sea level.
This entry was posted in spring. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Honesty In The Garden

  1. mothernaturesgarden says:

    Sweet memories, Rachel.

  2. mothernaturesgarden says:

    Tammy,
    I have several cameras at my disposal. If I recall correctly, it was a Canon EOS 20D.
    Donna

  3. Rachel says:

    Every time I see violets, I think of our baby aspirin bottle vases.

  4. Tammy says:

    I am in such admiration of your photos. The white flowers that seem to dribble over the edge of your vase… outstanding. What kind of camera are you using. Fantastic!!

  5. Great shots, as usual! Love the colors…and am so glad the squirrels missed that tulip. They’ve been a real pain, here with me…I’m trying to think of ways to outsmart them, because really, they’re not very smart. But how do they always seem to win??!!

    Jan,
    For sure, those pesky squirrels are persistent.
    Donna

  6. Betsy says:

    Hi Donna, How are you??? We’ve been on another trip to the Smokies. Check out my blog when you get a chance.. We were at a truly awesome place.

    Love your COLORS.. We have a little bit of spring here but not too much yet…
    Hugs,
    Betsy

  7. Catherine says:

    Beautiful flowers & captures Mother Nature!:) Your Spring is futher along than ours..I can just now see the purple pointed tips of my Hostas just starting to pop through the soil..soon though beautiful green leaves!!:)
    Have a beautiful week!
    Cat

  8. Those dratted squirrels. This is another pretty arrangement you’ve put together. You remind me of my husband’s aunt. She loved the woodland and nature around here. She and her family live in Oak Ridge Tennessee. Her husband is a famous whittler. Sorry if I already told you that. But your home and gardens are very similar. So pretty and natural.

  9. Jean says:

    Lovely spring pictures! I’m so enjoying watching spring arrive around the country! Come show us more spring pics on Bloomin’ Tuesday!

    Thanks for the invite, Jean.
    Donna

  10. What a lovely patch of Honesty – nice to see a clump of it – I only get the odd plant
    K

    I noticed one or two spreading far from the patch, Karen.
    Donna

  11. linda says:

    The lunaria is beautiful. What a great name for a plant – Honesty. They just don’t name plants like they used to!

    It makes you wonder how the name originated doesn’t it, Linda?
    Donna

  12. Racquel says:

    That patch of Lunaria is breathtaking right now. I love that bright pop of color!

    Racquel,
    I long for color at this time of year and celebrate every bud that opens.
    Donna

  13. tina says:

    I’ve never tried lunaria but am seriously considering it. It’s beautiful.

    Tina,
    The seedpods are a bonus.
    Donna

Leave a Reply

