A Touch of Color

 

img_5651

The cyclamen I bought earlier this year has become one of my favorites. It has looked good for a long time.  Removing the fading stems of flowers keeps new buds forming.

img_58071
Bromeliads come in such rich colors. I couldn’t resist adding one to my growing collection of stuff I have to tend.  Sigh!  Well, let’s just jump from big and bold to tee tiny.

 

img_5892
Tulips, iberis, grape hyacinth in a small piece of pottery purchased as a souvenir on some long ago vacation make up this six inch bouquet.


img_5870_3

The tiniest bouquet can be cheerful. This bouquet in a mini crystal vase  of grape hyacinth, forsythia, erica, hellebore, and andromeda is only three inches tall.

 

img_5911

Pear blossom and foliage with pansy arrangement in a butter pat dish is two inches tall.  Placed on a bedside table, by your computer, or at your place at the dinner table, it can lift your spirit when the weather goes gray. Votive candle holders make good mini containers for larger flowers like a rose.


img_5828

Mini Phalaenopsis

Mini Spring Bouquet/MotherNaturesGarden

 

d38afafdf23a988657a0c2aff1249dfe

About mothernaturesgarden

Gardening in Tennessee Zone 6 at an average of 744.65' above sea level.
This entry was posted in spring and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to A Touch of Color

  1. skeeter says:

    I love the idea of small arrangements! They are lovely and the pictures look great!

  2. I took a second look and I like the little pansies with the pear blossoms best. I have several of those pottery pieces. NC and Tenn are full of pottery places and we should with all that clay we have.

  3. You do have that special touch and I loved them all.

  4. Betsy says:

    Beautiful arrangements, Donna. I love all of the colors.. The one with the tulips is incredible. And I love those Mini Phalaenopsis… Wow!!!

    Hugs
    Betsy

  5. entangled says:

    Love, love, love those small bouquets – the only kind I can make with all my favorite tiny flowers. I’ve been buying small vases over the years just for that purpose, but never thought of using a votive candle holder (too literal-minded). Do you use any kind of holder (frog, rocks, etc.) in the containers with wide openings ?

    Entangled,
    I sometimes use clear glass marbles. I once bought a set of one ounce crystal stemless cordial glasses for a song that are perfect little vases.
    Donna

  6. tina says:

    You would be the blue ribbon winner for flower arranging in my garden club. We’d love to have you!

    You are so sweet, Tina. I usually leave flowers in the garden because they last longer. Mild weather one day and harsh the next made me rescue them and have them inside to enjoy.
    Donna

  7. Catherine says:

    I love the little spring bouquets! I was just thinking about them today. Yours are so pretty!!

  8. Really beautiful arrangements!
    Cameron

    Thank you, Cameron.

  9. Brenda Kula says:

    To me there is simply no art greater than what nature gives us.
    Brenda

    That is what it is all about, isn’t it, Brenda…finding beauty all around us.
    Donna

  10. Tatyana says:

    Donna, it’s not a touch, it’s a lot of color! And elegance…. Thanks!

    Tatyana,
    It seems sparse in the garden.
    Donna

  11. nancybond says:

    Donna, your floral arrangements are spectacular! And I have orchid envy — hee! That’s a beautiful pink. I’ve been tempted to buy a Bromeliad as they are on sale in many places right now, but I keep backing away from the displays. I really don’t have the room for much else. 🙂

    Nancy,
    Bromeliads work well with orchids. Maybe later.
    Donna

  12. Gail says:

    Just love them Donna..you know how to put a nice vase display together~~gail

    Gail,
    Only because it is small. I wear out a normal size bouquet arranging it. 😉
    Donna

  13. fairegarden says:

    Hi Donna, you little bouquets are divine!
    Frances

    Frances,
    Just a few snips and you have a bouquet.
    Donna

  14. Father Time says:

    Great show, MN. I wish I could do that.

    I’m sure you can, FT.
    Donna

Leave a Reply

