Terms of Endearment

Winter teases us with mild shirt sleeve days and then a blast from the north reminds us of the season. img_5686

Listening to the wind howling, I’m at my computer looking out on the white scene. Every daffodil and sprout is covered.  
img_5680Yesterday while the weather was mild we checked out a new Cajun place to eat. I think we visit Lowes everytime we leave the house. I found this Phalaenopsis and hubby didn’t say too much until he found it in his special place with a special card of endearment. Surprise! 🙂

img_5682

I’m eager to get these things outside. Clematis (5) planted in boxes (When they started to sprout, I planted them in the cardboard sleeves filled with potting soil.), succulents needing to be doused with water on a warm sunny day, rooted cuttings ( I have Creeping Jenny that I’m going to put around the pond rooting in the aquarium.),

img_5690
and windowsill greenhouses filled with lettuces. It seems the lettuce we get while shopping at the grocer goes bad before we use it. This way we can have fresh whenever needed. It’s a good plan. We will see how it works out.
img_5692
Oops! better remember to bring those chives I planted and left out by mistake back in as soon as it defrosts enough for me to get them. They are frozen to the bench. Life is good in Tennessee.

About mothernaturesgarden

Gardening in Tennessee Zone 6 at an average of 744.65' above sea level.
This entry was posted in Winter, winter containers, winter gardening. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Terms of Endearment

  1. Sherry says:

    Dear MN,
    I also do indoor gardening during the winter. Just sowed four leaf clover seeds for March decorating!
    I grew green beans inside one winter in planter boxes. I created living curtains…very fun. We picked green beans Christmas morning!
    Indoor lettuce works for me…I also enjoy sprouts for my salads.
    So happy to have met you. Looking forward to reading your journal and getting to know you and your gardens.
    Namaste,
    Sherry

    Sherry,
    I love your ideas. I’m off to read more on your blog.
    Donna

  2. Betsy says:

    Hi Donna, How are you??? Sounds like the indoor gardening works well –especially in that weather… You all got alot of snow, didn’t you?? We got almost NOTHING… It went south and then across Alabama and GA… But we are DARN cold here (low of 11 tonight). Yuk!!!!
    Hugs,
    Betsy

  3. Dee says:

    Yes, spring is such a tease. Hope your snow left soon after, and you can get back to planting.~~Dee

  4. Gail says:

    Hi Donna~ The snow is gone now, but it was lovely while it was here…Once the sun came out, in a blink it was gone! ~Isn’t the sun teasing us, too. It feels warm when it shines on you, but that wind is bitter! it is going to be shocking to wake up to 20 degrees again! My oh my, the orchid is lovely. gail

  5. Brenda Kula says:

    I love creeping jenny! One of my absolute favorite plants for its durability and versatility. That first photo is mesmerizing.
    Brenda

  6. skeeter says:

    Hubby’s first comment made me chuckle! He must be a sweetie and the Cajun food brings back memories of living in Louisiana! I sure do miss good Cajun food. We find the store bought lettuce does not last long either. I think we may plant some seeds this year as well….

  7. tina says:

    Forgot to say, your husband must love orchids. A sweet gesture to him.

  8. tina says:

    It was neat to wake up to snow this morning. It is nearly gone now though, but still cold!

  9. Racquel says:

    That snow is headed our way Donna. 😦 At least you have some indoor gardening to enjoy right now during this freak weather.

  10. Father Time says:

    Orchid was a surprise and the nice sweet note to go along with it. You did good, MN.
    hubby
    Flash Black
    Mr. Wonderful
    Chef Roger
    Father Time
    Etc., etc.

Leave a Reply

