Cedar Bluebird Boxes

img_56171Nashville has a large flea market at the fairgrounds every fourth weekend of the month. I found these hinged, cedar, bluebird boxes that are so aromatic they will probably repel bothersome insects.

 

img_5476

I’m always on the lookout for containers like this one. Bundle of lucky bamboo will be enough for some in the aquarium.

 

img_5621Twelve crystal chandelier pendants are presently hanging from curtains but I will add to my collection that I use for Christmas tree icicle decorations. I just wanted to look at them for a while. I’m having buyers regret that I did not pick up a few fresh African violets from the lady with Optimara violets who is always there. Oh well, next time. Did you know Optimara violets come from Nashville?

 

img_5611

 

The weather has been so nice for the last couple of days, I repotted an andromeda that stays in bud for several months into a larger container. It is a desirable  contrast to the bare woods behind.

About mothernaturesgarden

Gardening in Tennessee Zone 6 at an average of 744.65' above sea level.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Cedar Bluebird Boxes

  1. Niels says:

    Now I wish we could get some of those cedar nesting boxes over here in Europe. I need more, since birds eat a lot of aphids and are entertaining to look at. I also like your picture of the falcon and I can see you have a cozy space to do your desktop gardening! I hope you are doing well. Thanks for stopping by my blog and keeping my spirit up those months I was out of the loop.

  2. skeeter says:

    You have some great finds from the market! Lucky you to have a wonderful market near by. Our fleamarkets are a joke with cheaply made new items that you can find at the Dollar Tree for a buck. We need a nice treasure hunting market down here…

  3. Brenda Kula says:

    I have a family of bluebirds nesting in mine as we speak. Phenomenally beautiful birds.
    Brenda

  4. Betsy says:

    Hi Donna, Looks like you got alot of good buys at the flea market. Since I’m not a shopper –and don’t enjoy wandering around looking at things, I don’t go to sales like this (although I should). That bluebird nest box is incredible. I bought one at Lowe’s (probably for more money) –and it’s not nearly as nice. Sigh!!!!

    Have a great day.
    Hugs,
    Betsy

  5. tina says:

    Your pieris is looking great! I love the Nashville Flea Market. I have made plans to attend either this month or next, my husband and I went to Auto Swap there last weekend and the weather was so nice it reminded me it’s been more than a year since I’ve been there. You got a good birdhouse. I love this flea market for garden stuff. Did you know Nashville’s Flea Market is one of the best in the country? I read this in a magazine somewhere and was quite excited about it-I believe it!

  6. Tessa says:

    I’ve been wanting to put up a bird box- I’m just scared to death that it will attract more House Sparrows (we call them bullies- I think from The Burgess Bird Book for Children)

  7. Racquel says:

    Great finds Donna! I love fleamarkets but we don’t have any around here like the ones we went to in TX when I was growing up. (mostly just junk)

  8. Lona says:

    Oh, I love flea markets and wandering about them.We have a few big indoor ones here that are nice for the winter.The cedar birdhouse looks very well built too. I never thought about old crystal pendants for decorating and the one hanging from your curtain is so pretty and adds so much. I bet it sparkles when the sun hits it too. Great idea.
    Lona

  9. Gail says:

    Nice finds Donna. Thank you for the reminder of the flea market…I had forgotten about it! I put up a bluebird box last month and now the bluebirds have been checking it out! I am thrilled~~gail

Leave a Reply

