Winged Predator

When every bird disappears from the feeding area, look for a predator.

img_00053

Yep, there he is. He is about the size of a crow. 

img_0014
 This wet, bedraggled Cooper’s Hawk was hunting in the wintery mix precipitation this morning and Flash Black took these wonderful photos. Cooper’s Hawk is a lifer for me. 

img_0024He can keep his feet warm by pulling one up close to his body while clinging to a branch with the other.

 

img_0022

Tail helps with balancing act.

img_00202
Now he is again scanning for a meal. You can tell he is young because his eyes are yellow. They darken with age from yellow to orange to red.  This one has his feathers fanned maybe to dry them, shed water, or keep them from freezing together. The photos were made with a Canon Rebel XTi with EF 100-400mm f/4.5-5.6 L IS USM lens on a tripod.

Visit Flash Black

About mothernaturesgarden

Gardening in Tennessee Zone 6 at an average of 744.65' above sea level.
This entry was posted in birds, Winter and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Winged Predator

  1. Sue says:

    I think this is the kind of hawk we have at the school I work at. I want to try to get some pics when it warms up a bit. Yours are awesome! I love those feathers fanned out!

  2. kerri says:

    Donna, he’s a beauty, and these photos are superb. What great detail! Is ‘Flash Black’ your hubby or an alias for yourself? I envy you that 400mm lens.
    The birds certainly brighten up our winter days, don’t they?

  3. kanak says:

    Amazing shots, Donna. Spent a good deal of time marvelling at all the detail you captured.

  4. Donna – these are extraordinary photos lovely to see them – the markings on the feathers are great to see.
    K

  5. Wow Donna, these photos are magnificent! Professional quality, no doubt. FlashBack is amazing! The camera helps, I’m sure…but they are just set up so well, and capture every detail. I love how the wings and tail are spread out and I just have to say, out of all the people who;ve been posting these hawks lately (me included) yours have got to be the best shots yet!!!

  6. MrBrownThumb says:

    The bird pics are awesome.

    Thanks for putting up the banner for the Garden Blogger meetup in Chicago this May.

  7. Pamela says:

    Gosh, he’s just magnificent!!

  8. He’s in command. I bet little critters will show up well against the snow. Very nice photos.

  9. joey says:

    Beautiful photos, Donna. Cooper’s Hawk is not only handsome, but you captured his unique personality like a wonderful National Geographic shot.

  10. Those pictures are absolutely amazing! What a pretty hawk, even if he’s trying to find some unsuspecting creature to gobble up! Thanks for the photo info at the end of the post. I truly need to get out my tripod! Kim

  11. fairegarden says:

    Hi Donna, what a peek into nature up close with these photos. You really get the feel on the personality when the details show up like that. Good job, Flash Back! 🙂
    Frances

  12. CurtissAnn says:

    Just took some lovely minutes viewing your stupendous bird photos. Thanks for sharing. I enjoyed them mightily. We have cardinals often in our front yard, but I have not been able to get pics of them. They make me smile.

  13. Mary Beth says:

    Great pictures! I love watching hawks and kites hunt. We have Harris Hawks in our area http://cultivatingparadise.blogspot.com/2009/01/i-love-to-watch-hawks-hunt-over.html Seeds out of Austin, however, posted a Coopers Hawk http://seeds.sunriseruby.org/2009/01/12/hawk-sighting/ Guess January is Hawk Month.

  14. skeeter says:

    Those are great pictures of the hawk! We have a resident hawk family in our front woods but I dont have a good enough pic to share with everyone. Ihave been after them for 7 years! These are wonderful pics of him…. Good job!

  15. Brenda Kula says:

    How truly beautiful! Tail like an old-fashioned paper fan. I would love to see one in person.
    Brenda

  16. A lot of hawks are showing up across our garden blog land. Says something about the scarcity of food right now, I think.

    Great photos! What camera do you have?

    Cameron

    Canon Rebel XTi 100 to 400 lens

  17. gailae says:

    Excellent photos…what a magnificently beautiful bird..gail

  18. Racquel says:

    You captured some beautiful photos of this hawk! I had one in my yard this past weekend. They are beautiful but deadly birds.

  19. tina says:

    He’s just beautiful. I see them everywhere but not sitting in my garden. Love the close ups of him.

  20. Sheila says:

    Great photos! We have Cooper’s Hawks in my neck of the woods too and they are beautiful!

  21. nancybond says:

    Donna, those photos are extraordinary! What a beautiful bird!

  22. Betsy says:

    I know there have been hawks around our feeders –since the birds will leave quickly. However, I’ve only seen one (and didn’t get his picture). I did however see 3 Mourning Doves way up in a tree RIGHT after I saw that Hawk. I wondered if the hawk found them.. BUT–I never saw him again.

    Great pictures. Check out my blog today, Donna. It’s very interesting on Right Brain-Left Brain.

    Hugs,
    Betsy

Leave a Reply

