Something Beautiful

can always be found in the garden on the coldest day even if it has to be from your window.

img_0004

Purple Finch

Look at this fellow. He is quite colorful in the winter. He looks as though he has been dipped in dye.

 

img_0007_3

 A Cardinal problem in winter is hard water. 😉 Some varmint pushed the fountain into the pool and there is no movement to keep the water from freezing. It was probably trying to get a drink also.

 

img_00131

Red Bellied Woodpecker says, “Look out below.” She is so cute in her crouched position.

 

img_0018
Thanks for the heads up, my friend.

 

Photos courtesy of Flash Black

About mothernaturesgarden

Gardening in Tennessee Zone 6 at an average of 744.65' above sea level.
This entry was posted in birds, Winter. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Something Beautiful

  1. kerri says:

    The bird photos are wonderful, Donna. I haven’t seen any purple or house finches lately. They’ll come later when spring is closer.
    I think I see the answer up above in Gail’s comment to my earlier question…your hubby is the bird photographer.
    My camera is a Canon Rebel XTi also, and I have a 100-300mm lens.

  2. Anna says:

    I wish that I could see such colourful birds from my windows. Beautifully photographed !

  3. Jean says:

    Awesome bird shots! Thank You! Jean

  4. Gardens says:

    Ahh these photos are lovely. I especially like that Red Bellied Woodpecker. I cant get them at my place but I can enjoy it in your garden.

    Thanks for sharing,
    Merina

  5. We noticed that our feeders were almost emptied out this morning! The poor Mourning Doves are trying to get up off the snow and are trying to perch in the willow tree — which is a bit flimsy for a flock of doves. I took a bamboo pole and tried to clear snow out from under our evergreens to give them some clear ground.

    Cameron

  6. Kathleen says:

    I love your photos Donna, especially the red bellied woodpecker. We don’t have those here so those were a treat. I bought a heater for my birdbath last year and now I don’t know why I waited so long. It gets constant use (even in zero degree temperatures) so I’m glad I could provide the birds with that very important source of water. PS I wish I had a Mr. Wonderful to fix me a meal like in your previous post. It looks amazing.

  7. Your photos are so clear. I’m still working on that myself…maybe someday I’ll get it right? What camera do you use (if you don’t mind sharing). I think it does an excellent job! (Well, the photographer had something to do with it;)
    I’ve been filling our feeders every other day, as well! They can sometimes be like little piggies! But I love watching them so it’s always worth it.

  8. skeeter says:

    There has been a lot of activity at our feeders lately. Our feeder house usually keeps them occupied for about a week but we are filling it up every two days now! Deer are eating the corn bucket dry in two days also! Lots of hungry mouths to feed in the wild. We have the gold and house finches but not the purple. My dad has the purple in his TN yard…

    Just this morning I had to run out in the snow and fill the finch feeder, Skeeter. They emptied it in two days. We love it when the deer pass through our yard. They don’t usually stay long enough to damage plants.
    Donna

  9. It was red/purple bird day I see, nice shots of the visitors. They will have to get the woodpecker to open up a hole in the ice for them.

  10. We had a red-bellied here almost all day yesterday. He was tanking up before today’s snow, I suppose! Our meadow was covered with Robins, too.

    Great photos!

    Our Cardinals are just gorgeous in the white snow today. Lots of Chickadees, Purple Finches, Junco, and Goldfinches.

    Cameron,
    It is so special to see a flock of beautiful birds like the robins. We had a flock of cardinals at the feeders this morning. There were 8 males I could count and at least as many females.
    Donna

  11. Betsy says:

    Beautiful pictures, Donna. I have all of the same birds here except the Purple Finch. We have Goldfinches and TONS of Pine Siskins and a very very few House Finches here–but no Purple (at least none that I’ve seen).

    My male Red-bellied is named PETE. ‘His’ friend is Petunia!!!! They are regular visitors!!!!

    Hugs,
    Betsy

    How cute you give them names, Betsy. They do seem like old friends sometime.
    Donna

  12. Gail says:

    Donna,

    They do brighten up our gardens. Your photographs are wonderful. What do you shoot with…I am testing a camera and not sure it’s the one I want…yet! gail

    Gail,
    Hubby makes most of bird photos seen here. He is learning to use his Canon Rebel XTi with Canon EF 100-400mm f/4.5-5.6 L IS USM lens.
    Donna

  13. Joy says:

    You have such awesome coloured birds where you are girl ! .. we have to wait until mid April to see our favorite Goldfinches .. hubby and I absolutely love those little creatures : )
    Wonderful pictures : )

    Joy,
    We are lucky. Not too long before we see the Goldfinches change into there colorful attire.
    Donna

  14. tina says:

    Too sweet! I know the feeling of the fountain getting knocked over. Usually it is one of my dogs thinking they need a dip in the ‘bathtub’. I did add a heater to it though so it is okay. Supposed to warm up tomorrow so hopefully it will thaw out.

    I have thought of getting a heater also, Tina. There is always another reason to go back to the bird store.
    Donna

  15. fairegarden says:

    Beautiful indeed! I can never tell the difference between the house finches and the purple finches, thanks for the ID.
    Frances

    It is true, Frances; they are easy to confuse.
    Donna

Leave a Reply

