Sweet Mystery

img_5441

 

It is so easy to lose those little bulbs I plant here and there.  How many times have I planted just to find something already there partially destroyed.  Maybe you are one of those little miniature daffodils I bought in bloom and then quickly buried in the garden after blooming. Oh, please be one of the few Galanthus/Snow Drops a fellow gardener sent that was all but forgotten until I mistakenly unearthed then carefully replanted. Ah, sweet mystery! Only time will tell.

About mothernaturesgarden

Gardening in Tennessee Zone 6 at an average of 744.65' above sea level.
This entry was posted in bulbs, Winter. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Sweet Mystery

  1. skeeter says:

    I dont have much luck with Daffy’s or tulip’s in my garden. I dont think it gets cold enough during the winter for them here in GA. sigh…

    Skeeter,
    I hear you. I will just have to forget about tulips. Not that it doesn’t get cold enough, but I am tired of buying squirrel treats.
    Donna

  2. You will know what it is soon enough: It will be exciting when you finally find out:)
    Jan

    So true. Jan, thanks again for the fave for my blog.
    Donna

  3. Racquel says:

    I do the same thing Donna. Mysteries can be fun in the garden, can’t wait to see what your new little bloomer is going to be.

    Racquel,
    I have added it to my list of things to check out when I make my garden rounds. Is any other little snow drop in the world getting this much attention and anticipation of its arrival?
    Donna

  4. nancybond says:

    What fun! A mystery plant — it won’t be long until all is revealed.:)

    You are so right, Nancy. Each day my interest is keener.
    Donna

  5. It’s so easy to dig into the little bulbs as you move things around, or add new plants. When I planted new bulbs this fall, I ran into the Galanthus I planted the fall before, that had never bloomed. The bulbs looked in good shape. Ever the optimist, I thought maybe they’ll bloom next spring. 🙂
    It’s fun to watch the new shoots emerge, and anticipate the blooms.

    NS,
    You will probably be rewarded with bloom this year. I have read them not blooming the first year is not uncommon. Yet, I have great expectations.
    Donna

  6. Donna,

    I have the same problem! I know that I needed to divide my Spanish Bluebells, but I forgot the exact location!

    I lose plant name labels like I’m losing my mind! LOL

    Cameron

    Cameron,
    It is enough of a chore keeping my daylily labels with the proper plant. Animals like squirrels digging around dislodge them and later in the year I will be setting them straight when they bloom.
    Donna

  7. fairegarden says:

    Hi Donna, it looks like galanthus to me, I have some about the same amount up out of the ground newly planted last fall too. I am jealous that your hellebores are blooming, mine are squeezed up tight inside the buds waiting for the sun and warmth!
    Frances

    Frances,
    That is just what I wanted to hear from someone who knows how those little things look. I would be so disappointed if I lost something someone was gracious enough to send me.
    Donna

  8. Betsy says:

    Hi Donna, It may be a daffodil.. We have daffodils coming up all over the yard.. But–yours may be bigger than ours. I can’t tell how close you are to it as to how large it it. Is that the only stalk? Generally there will be several close to each other…. I ‘dunno’ know!!!!!! Maybe it will surprise you when it blooms (if it lives through the cold winter).

    Hugs,
    Betsy

    Betsy,
    It is quite small. It will be a surprise. I hope the desired one.
    Donna

Leave a Reply

