Primrose Power

img_5424

Mild winter days are perfect for bringing home a plant. A ‘grocery store’ primrose  is just the ticket to satisfy my craving. It is actually in the sink window but I’m not tall enough to get a shot there. I’m always amazed what one little flower can do. It cheerfully sits there bounded by covered dove bowls transforming the gray woods beyond. The window is perfect for the primrose where it is safe from winter’s cold but in the coolness it prefers. Even in the window there are some overhead can lights directed toward it. Ah, isn’t that better?  It’s spring on my windowsill and in my heart.

 

I just ran across this preview of The Garden In Winter  you may enjoy. Be sure to hit the plus button to enlarge. I’m always looking, as I’m sure you are, for winter bloomers and sources so I may add them to the garden. Plus I just like books. I have a gardening book collection, of course, that pretty much fills the bookcase. 🙂 When it is too cold to go out and get a plant we can read about them, can’t we? Feel free to add your favorite book of winter gardening.

 

Keep a green tree in your heart and perhaps a singing bird will come.  Chinese Proverb

About mothernaturesgarden

Gardening in Tennessee Zone 6 at an average of 744.65' above sea level.
This entry was posted in winter gardening and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Primrose Power

  1. Titania says:

    These softly coloured primroses are just right for winter cheer. Is it not wonderful that we can look at a flower and be blissfully happy?
    I also love the wintry colour of bird and dry leaves. It is such a remarkable beautiful picture.

  2. Rusty in Miami says:

    Hi thanks for stopping by my blog. I promise to keep posting flowers from my garden all winter long, if you need a smile keep coming back.

  3. Very pretty and cheerful during these winter days. I almost brought home a bouquet of cut flowers from Trader Joes the other day. I just stood there staring at their beautiful floral displays!

    Cameron

  4. Jendi says:

    It is a pretty flower. I know what you mean about the gardening craving. 🙂

    I love books too, but have just started being interested in gardening ones.

    Thank you for checking out our garden blog through Blotanical.

    My family and I are heading to Nashville the first weekend of Feb.

  5. Your primrose looks lovely 🙂 I can’t imagine how cold it is over there at the moment…it is just so hot here right now, we spent the day at the beach! Anyway, there aint ‘nothin like a pretty flower to brighten your day, thankyou 🙂

  6. spookydragonfly says:

    It really does look like spring on your windowsill…if it weren’t for my cats, I’d be running to the store in the morning!

  7. Brenda Kula says:

    I love the cute little button centers of the flower! Looks like the sun. I so long for spring!
    Brenda

  8. Racquel says:

    I used to have these planted amongst my azaleas in my old shade garden. They came back for quite a few years too. The colors they come in now are so happy & cheerful.

  9. tina says:

    I just love these little guys. When I lived in Germany they came back faithfully. Not so much here though. Sadly.

Leave a Reply

