Ready for Thanksgiving?

 

img_5154It is budding and I’m thinking it will be ready for Thanksgiving.

Do you know the difference between Thanksgiving and Christmas cactus? Did you know that they bloom twice a year? How about Easter cactus?

Holiday Cactus

 

Easter Cactus

Also, there are botanical synonyms and a many hybrids.

So which is which?

 

schlumbergera_x_bridgeport

 

7037-004-11b8bae93

 

easter-cactus-flower-closeup

 

 Answer is in Comments.

About mothernaturesgarden

Gardening in Tennessee Zone 6 at an average of 744.65' above sea level.
This entry was posted in Autumn and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Ready for Thanksgiving?

  1. Cheryl says:

    I have two Christmas Cacti that are budded, they didn’t open for Turkey day though! Thanks for the info!

  2. CurtissAnn says:

    Thank you for the edification. I have the Christmas cactus, but mine here in OK has seldom bloomed at Christmas. Sometimes it blooms closer to Easter. I think our passive solar home stays too warm. You have inspired me to move one of mine to a back bedroom and close the door. 🙂

  3. Susie says:

    How pretty! I just noticed today that mine had buds on them. I am so excited- they didn’t bloom well at all last year. I can’t wait to see the blooms 🙂
    Susie

    Hi, Susie,
    It is always fun to see something make a comeback. Mine recovered this summer in the garden after becoming somewhat straggly last winter.
    Donna

  4. spookydragonfly says:

    I love the Christmas cactus, I haven’t had any indoor plants in years due to my cats munching on them. Your Christmas cactus photo would be pretty if it were enlarged and displayed on a feature wall!

  5. Great blog, photos and articles. Very informative. Thank you for sharing and keep up the great work. Rick

  6. skeeter says:

    I have only heard of Christmas cactus! Wow, learn something new everyday! My mom has a beautiful Christmas cactus that blooms just like clock work each year…

  7. Barbara says:

    Thanks for visiting and commenting. I have just been scrolling throught lots of your blog. Some beautiful photos, especially the Autumn (Fall) ones.
    I have some similar on my blog from last years Autumn taken in Epping Forest which is quite close to me.

  8. Brenda Kula says:

    I thought there was only one. I’m only familiar with the Xmas cactus. They’re lovely flowers.
    Brenda

  9. linda says:

    Hi Donna, my Christmas cactus must think it’s a Thanksgiving cactus, since it’s blooming now.

  10. DP says:

    We have one of those cactus plants– It’s already started to bloom. Gorgeous pink flowers. It sits pretty dormant all year long, except for just this week. It is so pretty-definitely worth the wait.

  11. Gail says:

    Donna, Your bloom is ready for Thanksgiving but I am not! I don’t know anything about this group of lovely plants! Gail

  12. AnnA says:

    They are pretty. Seeing them bloom in winter cheers up my mood. Are you taking a nap today sitting in your ladder back chair? That is interesting that you told me about the customs of your grandparents. I think they were afraid someone would think they were lazy. And I remember that once my grandmother made the bed–there was no more getting back in unless it was night. You got up with the chickens.

    Right, Anna,
    No one could muss the counterpane.
    Donna

  13. Zach says:

    Great pictures! My Christmas cactus looks like it’s going to be a Thanksgiving cactus this year, too.

  14. tina says:

    I read this somewhere on one of the blogs. It may have been Meadowview because someone gave her a Thanksgiving cactus. I never there was a difference though.

    Tina,
    I think with the nomenclature changes comes confusion.
    Donna

  15. mothernaturesgarden says:

    They are in order: Thanksgiving, Christmas, Easter

Leave a Reply

