November GB Bloom Day in Tennessee

is no longer about the straggly left over flowers

img_5121

or the the beautiful fall color,

img_50871

but the evergreens

img_5124

Golden Threadleaf Cypress

 

the berries

img_51151

Nandina

 

 

the budded shrubs

img_5128

Andromeda/Pieris

 

 

 

the hardy ferns, broadleaf shrubs, perennials

img_5119

Autumn Fern, Holly, and Aspidistra

 

hardy, colorful, vegetables

img_5122

kale

 

 

and flowering everytime the weather breaks, 

img_51051

pansies.

 

But mostly, it is about cleaning up all these leaves 

img_5142

before guests come for the holidays. It will not be today, however, for it is cold and wet. 😉 This garden definitely needs one of those lovely Camellia sasanquas like Tina of In the Garden

GBBD genesis is May Dreams Garden.

 

About mothernaturesgarden

Gardening in Tennessee Zone 6 at an average of 744.65' above sea level.
This entry was posted in Autumn and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to November GB Bloom Day in Tennessee

  1. Am says:

    The kale looks so perfect!!

    Thanks, Am,
    Took a look at your url and love the couple of photos there. Looking forward to more from you.
    Donnna

  2. Brenda Kula says:

    Simply lovely, inspiring photos! I truly enjoyed each one of them.
    Brenda

  3. DP says:

    I love the color of all those pansies! The kale is so also such a wonderful mix–definitely not fall colors but still just as beautiful.

  4. spookydragonfly says:

    Beautiful pansies, Donna. I enjoy seeing your wide variety of plantlife that you nurture. I love walking in the full, dense carpet of leaves in our woods.

    Hi Kim,
    I like walking in the woods when it is cold because there is less chance of seeing snakes. They are hibernating.
    Donna

  5. skeeter says:

    I wonder if my Nandina will ever have berries such are your nandina? Wow, that thing is full…

  6. I like the shot of your leaves in a thick layer. I enjoy walking through a layer of leaves deep enough to cover my shoes.
    Blue pansies are my favourite, and your light and dark blue mixture are very pretty.
    The pot of Autumn Fern, Holly, and Aspidistra is very attractive, with a nice leaf combination.

  7. Megan says:

    The pot with the fern is a beautiful collection. I hear you with the raking, that’s all I’m doing these days.

    Thanks, Megan. The fiddlehead on your post was impressive.
    Donna

  8. rusty says:

    Living in Florida is difficult for me to picture that many leaves on the ground. The picture is beautiful but I don’t envy the work ahead of you

  9. Gail says:

    Beautiful Donna…you have reminded us that it ain’t over when the bloom is gone! Have a good weekend! gail

  10. Philip says:

    Those are a LOT of leaves. But, I like the leaves and the branches you show. I think it looks beautiful. That image is so poetic. All seasons in their time.
    I love the close up image of the pansy. Beautiful photography.
    Philip

  11. Joy says:

    Donna .. you have so many plants and shrubs still looking awesome ! I love the berries of the Nandina ? I haven’t heard of that before .. it must not be for our zone .. but it is gorgeous .. I love flowering Kale in those purple colours .. and all of those leaves .. wow ! You do have a lot of them !!! LOL
    Joy

  12. tina says:

    Yes, I so totally agree. I finally have kept one alive for more than two years. Yours is very big and great. I do adore this plant. Thanks for the link:)

    You have quite a lovely and mature garden from the pictures of your specimens. I can easily see a camelia near the pieris close to the house somewhere. Keep an eye out for April Blush or Jean May. Key is sasanquas-fall bloomers. The spring bloomers work well too but they most always get nipped by a late frost. It doesn’t hurt the foliage, just no blooms. ttyl

  13. tina says:

    That pieris is awesome!

    Tina,
    There is something attractive about a Pieris all the time.
    Donna

Leave a Reply

