Misty Morning

img_5101
It was raining and it was early when this photo was made which means the woods fill with mist. Taking advantage of the moisture, Mr. Wonderful planted the other weeping cherry that I have had to water all summer in the pot. I planted one earlier this year. That is another fall job that can be crossed off the list.

Test Your Botanical Knowledge

This shrub for zones 6-9; evergreen; shade to full sun; 3-10 feet tall with upright growth habit; compound leaf with narrow leaflets, bright red fruits in late summer and fall; wide range of cultivars with different heights and more colorful leaves in fall; flowers and fruits in shade; drought tolerant, origin is eastern Asia; has a lacy effect.



Did you Know?
Veterans Day was originally to honor veterans of WWI when hostilities ceased the eleventh hour of the eleventh day of the eleventh month before the treaty was signed. Its name and whom it honors has evolved over the years. Not only is it celebrated in America but all over the world. Thank you allied veterans around the world.
About mothernaturesgarden

Gardening in Tennessee Zone 6 at an average of 744.65' above sea level.
This entry was posted in Autumn, test your botanical knowledge. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Misty Morning

  1. DP says:

    That is a very pretty scene… I think I would fail at botanical knowledge. I might be too impatient to learn, lol. I’m glad you know all these very cool pieces of info about the plants that are around us 🙂

    DP,
    You know more than you think you do. 🙂
    Donna

  2. Racquel says:

    I just love Nandinas, great quiz!

  3. Gail says:

    The weeping cherry is looking very fall like in the misty light. Have a fine weekend~~gail

    Gail,
    You have a great imagination or you are blogging too fast. 😉
    Donna

  4. AnnA says:

    Oh, yea, forgot to say that I appreciate you tribute to Veterans. I did know the story about WW1 and the poppies. Did you know about the Poppies?

    Anna
    I know about the poppies but I have never planted them. I must make an effort to do so. I bet they should be planted now. When we first came here, there were large highway beautification project areas planted in red poppies on the main inroads to Nashville. Of course, it was spectacular.
    Donna

  5. AnnA says:

    I like your misty day scene. It was the same here and my Mr. Delicious was out working on my shed/elegant hideaway. Doesn’t it feel good to have something else crossed off the list? I have a list a mile long and most of it requreing hard labor. That’s what happens when you move in a new home.

    I knew it was Nandina! You were just commenting to someone—I think Nancy, about how many berries you had this year. I guess that means a tough winter for us. We have acorns out the wazoo! I have Bar Harbor nandinas. They get a very burgandy tinge at the top and have a very graceful form.

Leave a Reply

