Saved by the Tiny Mammillaria

Sometimes I get tired of the same old plants. I wasn’t planning on bringing these inside, but this one had because of rain and cooler temps started forming a crown of buds and won my heart again. So I brought them all in.

About mothernaturesgarden

Gardening in Tennessee Zone 6 at an average of 744.65' above sea level.
This entry was posted in Autumn. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Saved by the Tiny Mammillaria

  1. Rusty says:

    That is a nice collection of plants. You have a great Blog, thanks for stopping by my.
    PS I’ll try to keep up with my Blog during the upcoming winter, stay tuned.

    I’m looking forward to it, Rusty.
    Donna

  2. Megan says:

    I would have been won over by the buds too. That’s a fantastic picture.

  3. Kanak says:

    Love the shelfs for your plants, Donna. And the budding plant is very pretty!

    Thanks, kanak.

  4. Gail says:

    good morning! That is a cute plant and it is guaranteed not to be bothered by the cat! Another good plant idea! Thanks, Gail

    Hi, Gail,
    It is amazing how these plants protect themselves. It is part of their charm.
    Donna

  5. fairegarden says:

    Hi Donna, what a wonderful set up you have and who could resist those cheering buds. I see the plants you bring in are small and neat, not big messy leafy things. Kudos to you!

    Frances
    http://fairegarden.wordpress.com/

    ps…do you have many people still going to the blogspot site? I do and always worry that they don’t come over to the wordpress one with the new material.
    F

    Frances,
    I have done my share of hauling in the big, the leafy, the soon to yellow and drop leaves everywhere. I have scaled down. There are tons of plants that will live outside that I have not grown yet.

    Some do go to the old site. I even go there myself for info.
    Donna

  6. DP says:

    I agree with Tina–what a wonderful and organized way to set up your plants. Our potted plants are all over the house in various spots for the winter, very disorganized.

    DP,
    Finding a place with enough light is the problem. I originally intended to have them in the family room but although it has plenty of windows, an overhanging canopy makes it was too dark. This is in my bedroom on the south side of the house.
    Donna

  7. nancybond says:

    Yes, that is a perfect spot for them — I don’t blame you for wanting to bring that little fellow inside. He’s a beaut!

    Thanks, Nancy.
    I couldn’t resist.
    Donna

  8. tina says:

    You have an awesome set up to store your plants! I so wish I had something like this. I can barely walk in one of my rooms because of plants. Let’s don’t even talk of watering the darned things.

    Tina,
    I thought I had all under control bug wize. They were hiding because of the cold. When they found themselves in my warm house, they came out. Mostly spiders but I vacuumned them. Things are pretty normal now.
    Donna

  9. joey says:

    The crowning buds would win my heart also. You are a wise woman!

    Joey,
    Maybe next time, I’ll not wait till the last minute.
    Donna

Leave a Reply

