Colorful Kale

The cooler it gets the more colorful they become. I have planted ornamental cabbage in past years but the hard frosts took them out. I thought I would give this frilly kale a try this year to see if it is hardier. I’m sure they would have a better chance if they weren’t so recently planted. We will see what happens. It is supposed to freeze tonight.

About mothernaturesgarden

Gardening in Tennessee Zone 6 at an average of 744.65' above sea level.
This entry was posted in Autumn and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Colorful Kale

  1. Matron says:

    That coloured kale makes for wonderful hardy winter bedding plants. They last the whole way through to Spring!

    Matron,
    I didn’t realize until I looked it up, London is Zone 9. There must be a lot of things that can be grown in the winter thanks to the good old Gulf Stream.
    Donna

  2. I love cabbage and kale and your kale here is gorgious, stunning colours . LOL Tyra

    Thanks, Tyra,
    I have been admiring your yellow tomatoes.
    Donna

  3. They are technically edible, but cook to an unappetizing gray color you wouldn’t put in your mouth.

    Jim,
    I have read where the pretty ones that are chemically safe (like sown yourself) are used for garnishes.
    Donna

  4. They are bred for beauty not taste, Titania.

  5. Titania says:

    I always thought they looked amazing with their intense colours. Very pretty. Are they also edible?

  6. Lola,
    If you save the seed from the ones you grow they sort of acclimate to your area. Mine have never made it to flowering.

  7. Gail,
    Russian kale sounds like it can withstand anything. I’ll look for that.

  8. Tina,
    I got mine in today also. I have a systemic insecticide in mine so I didn’t have to be concerned about bugs.

  9. Gail says:

    I planted a lacy Russian Kale that withstood the cold of last year…this year we re going for the same look! It worked! Your has great color! By tomorrow it will even more colorful!

  10. tina says:

    It is freezing tonight! Already! I got my houseplants in just today. Whew! Very pretty kale. It never lasts for me so I gave up about 4 years ago. Good luck with yours.

  11. Lola says:

    I love the colors of the Kale. I have wanted to try them for some time. But they are hard to find now. May have to get some seeds & try that way.

  12. mothernaturesgarden says:

    I use it ornamentally but I have read you can eat it but it is not as tasty as the culinary varieties. If ornamental you do not know what chemicals have been used either. That may be something to consider.

  13. They are magnificent colours. Are they tasty?

  14. mothernaturesgarden says:

    Steve,
    Mild winter climate…let me luxuiate in that for a moment. If only I could migrate like a bird, I could garden all year.

  15. mothernaturesgarden says:

    Jim,
    I’m imagining a field of kale. Wow! I’m not attracted to mums much either. I guess because they are so common.

  16. Steve says:

    Count me in as another Kale fan, big time. I used to love seeing it in mild Winter climnates, used as such a fascinating bolt of color in urban landscpes. Big and colorful, this is a fave of mine.

  17. I love the colors of kale. i planted kale each year for years. I haven’t planted any in about four years – but I have one that keeps coming back each year. It’s my favorite Fall plant. I’d rather have a field of kale than a field of mums.

Leave a Reply

