Gerber Daisy

 

I Gerbera jamesonii

Gerbera jamesonii

I love gerber daisies. I could not pass this one without bringing it home. I think I am subconsciously preparing for Halloween. Anyway, it is here and I think I’ll add it to the bed with the ones I already have. There are thousands of varieties but I could not find much online about specific cultivars. 😐

They make nice indoor plants as well. You can usually buy them anytime of year. I like to buy something in the fall that I can play with all winter. Last year it was succulents. This year it may be gerber daisies. 🙂

 

There are a couple of different, although subtle, forms in this container.

 

It is the variety of form and color I find fascinating.

 

I understand they bloom better when potbound which is a great characteristic for indoor plants in small spaces. Yes, this year it will be gerber daisies. 🙂

 


About mothernaturesgarden

Gardening in Tennessee Zone 6 at an average of 744.65' above sea level.
This entry was posted in Autumn and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Gerber Daisy

  1. mothernaturesgarden says:

    Thanks for noticing, Nancy, and the advice.

  2. nancybond says:

    I hope you like WordPress as much as I do. (Donna, your blogspot link still comes up when I click on my favs — did you change your URL in your Plot settings? Just wondering if that might be the trouble. You have to change both your URL and your new WP feed.)

    These daisies are the bomb! I absolutely love that orange! I also watched the little video — peaceful and soothing. 🙂

  3. mothernaturesgarden says:

    DP, Tina,
    Moving to WordPress did not solve my problem completely. I’m still working on it.
    Jean, Thanks for the invite.
    Racquel,
    I’m thinking of getting red one and white ones. They will look good at Christmas.
    Donna

  4. Racquel says:

    That is a fantastic shade of orange. I love Gerberas too Donna. They come in amazing colors and even the petals can be unique. I have one that is red with yellow undersides & the ends of the petals look like pinking shears got to them. 😉

  5. tina says:

    Wow! I thought I was at another blog, but I guess I am since you changed to WordPress. Are you liking it better? No problems? It looks fabulous.

  6. Jean says:

    I love gerbers too but can never keep them alive. I think I overwater. Lovely photos and I love the color. Come over and join us fpr Bloomin’ Tuesday next week. Jean

  7. DP says:

    Everyone is moving to WordPress! The daisy is so beautiful and the color is so perfect for Autumn.

Leave a Reply

