Ducks in Trees

What to my wondering eyes ….ducks in trees. Although not the best of photos, it is easily determined these are wood ducks. I love living here. Every year there is something new and exciting to learn.

img_00132

Male Wood Duck

Amazed to see a pair of Wood Ducks in the woods behind our house, I started searching for information to find that they do indeed nest in the hollow of trees such as a Pileated Woodpecker might carve and near water. We have Beaver Dam Creek nearby.

img_0011
Female Wood Duck

A quick Google search rendered a beautiful post on Larry Jordan’s blog, The Birder’s Report, made about this time last year. As you can see, the Steve Berliner photos are exquisite.

A YouTube search, and you can see little ducklings plummeting to the ground. According to the Cornell site, they can jump from a height of 290′ (has to be a mistake) without injury. ¬†Deep nesting boxes prevent predation by raccoons.

I hope the Wood Ducks find a good site and remain.

 

About mothernaturesgarden

Gardening in Tennessee Zone 6 at an average of 744.65' above sea level.
This entry was posted in birds, Winter and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Ducks in Trees

  1. Brian says:

    I live off the mississippi river and I have seen ducks in the large trees by the river. Its something to see. I was trying to see what type of duck it is. I see lots of different types of ducks here. Mallards loons mud ducks (tiny ducks).

  2. linda says:

    Hi Donna, wow – I’ve never seen ducks in trees, and didn’t know baby ducks bounce! It’s amazing they can fall that far without injury.

    We often have mallards in our backyard when the swale is full. It’s fun to watch them swimming and preening back there! They’re generally not very skittish, and will tolerate me getting very close to them.

  3. Balisha says:

    Hi Donna,
    I have seen the duck houses by our Rock River, but haven’s see any activity around them. I’ll have to check them out again. What patience these photographers have to get these wonderful shots.

  4. On the Planet Earth film, there are ducklings jumping from the trees, so I believe the 290′ measurement!

    Cameron

  5. My word, I never expected to see a duck like that in a tree. It’s entertaining.

  6. kerri says:

    How amazing! I read something about this just recently, but can’t remember where. Probably on a blog.
    The video is wonderful. Those ducklings just kept on coming. There must’ve been a dozen! Did you manage to count them?
    Also loved looking at Steve Berliner’s pictures and Larry’s report.
    I hope your ducks stay around.

  7. skeeter says:

    I have seen Duck Boxes but only on the water and never in a tree! I find it amazing how those little ducklings can plop to the ground then get right up and walk for the first time! I also find it amazing how many can fit into the house! A great video…

  8. Maly says:

    Hey! That’s pretty cool. I love taking nature photography but haven’t had time to go out and explore. I haven’t seen a duck in the longest. Hopefully soon! =)

  9. Brenda Kula says:

    And I have never seen a duck in a tree! Never even contemplated it! What an amazing shot. I wish ducks came to visit me!
    Brenda

  10. Racquel says:

    I’ve never seen a duck in a tree either. Thanks for the interesting video too. I’m surprised that they survive that jump.

  11. tina says:

    That is cool and a very nice video too Donna.

  12. I hope so, too. And I hope it’s nearby so you can watch their progress! My husband has built and “planted” many duck boxes over the years… mostly in ponds during the winter. Another way to protect them! Nice post and photos. :-)

  13. Betsy says:

    Well Donna–I guess I’ve seen it all now. In all of my life, I have never seen ducks in trees. Thanks for the education!!!

    Unbelievable.
    Hugs,
    Betsy

  14. Catherine says:

    I don’t think I’ve ever seen a duck in a tree :) Wood ducks have such pretty markings, I never knew they would nest in a tree either. I hope they stay so you can enjoy watching them!

Leave a Reply

